Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street

"ST. MARY MAGDALEN, Old Fish-treet, the church of, is situated on the north side of Knightrider-street, at the west corner of the Old Change. Its name is derived from that of the saint to which it is dedicated, and its situation in the ancient fish market. This church was formerly a vicarage, in the tenure of the canons of St. Paul's, so early as 1181. . . The old church was destroyed at the time of the great fire of 1666, as well as its neighbour St. Gregory, which is at the south-west corner of St. Paul's Cathedral. . . The church was rebuilt in 1685, by Sir Christopher Wren. The patronage of this church is also in the minor canons of St Paul's. After its destruction by the great fire, the ground upon which it stood was laid into St. Paul's Church-yard, and the two parishes united by act of parliament. . . The present Rector is the Rev. Richard H. Barham, a minor canon of St. Paul's, who was instituted in 1826." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 35 in the above map - is located in Castle Baynard Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, demolished 1887.
The parish was later united with St Martin Ludgate 1890.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street with St Gregory by St Paul include: Presbyterian and Unitarian [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street.

You can see pictures of St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street and (ii) St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street With St Gregory By St Paul, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Mary Magdalen Old Fish-street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.