Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Mary Somerset

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Mary Somerset

"ST. MARY SOMERSET, the church of, is situated on the north side of Upper Thames~street, opposite Broken-wharf, and derives its addition, says Stowe, from its contiguity to a small hithe or haven, called Summer's het, or hithe, since corrupted to Somerset. It appears from ancient records that a church stood on this site before the year 1335, but sharing the fate of most of the other buildings, in the fire of London, the present church was erected in its stead by Sir Christopher Wren, and finished in 1695. After the fire of London, the parish of St. Mary Monthaw was united to this parish by act of parliament. The patronage of the church of St. Mary Somerset, was anciently in lay hands, but after the reformation falling to the crown, it was granted to the Bishops of London for ever; and that of St. Mary Monthaw has been for a long time past in the Bishops of Hereford: these prelates, therefore, present alternately. The church is a rectory in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and the present rector is the Rev. John S. Sergrove, Rector of Cooling, who was instituted by the Bishop of London in 1808." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 74 in the above map - is located in Queenhithe Ward.
The church was damaged in 1666, rebuilt by Wren 1695 was demolished in 1872 with only the tower remaining.
The parish was later united with St Nicholas Cole Abbey 1866.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Mary Somerset.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Mary Somerset area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Mary Somerset parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Mary Somerset with St Mary Mounthaw [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Mary Somerset.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Mary Somerset.

You can see pictures of St Mary Somerset which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Mary Somerset to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Mary Somerset has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Mary Somerset parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Mary Somerset - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the S t Mary Somerset and St Mary Somerset London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Mary Somerset and (ii) St Mary Somerset With St Mary Mounthaw, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Mary Somerset parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.