Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Mary Woolnoth

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Mary Woolnoth

"ST. MARY WOOLNOTH, the church of, stands at the north-east corner of Sherbourne-lane, Lombard-street. Its addition of Woolnoth is derived from being neath, (since, by corruption, noth,) or nigh to the Woolstaple. The ancient church was of some antiquity, as John de Norton is mentioned as being rector in 1335. . . . It was damaged at the time of the great fire of 1666, and was sufficiently repaired to last till the act passed in Queen Anne's reign to build fifty new churches, when the old church was taken down, and the present handsome substantial edifice built in its stead. It is from the designs of Nicholas Hawksmoor, a disciple of Wren. . . The united parishes are a rectory in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the King, and J. Thornton, Esq., alternately. The present rector is the Rev. Samuel Birch, D.D., a Prebendary of St Paul's, and Professor of Geometry in Gresham College." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 49 in the above map - is located in Langbourn Ward.
The church dates from before the Great Fire, and was rebuilt by Hawksmoor 1716-26, no marriages solemnised.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Mary Woolnoth.

topup

Biography

Cecil, Richard. Memoirs of the Rev. John Newton, late rector of the united parishes of St. Mary Woolnoth, and St. Mary Woolchurch Haw, Lombard street, with general remarks on his life, connexions, and character. London, Printed for J. Hatchard, Piccadilly. [S. Gosnell, printer] (1808) 322 pp. [Full text]
Newton, John and Bull, Josiah. John Newton of Olney and St. Mary Woolnoth. An autobiography and narrative, compiled chiefly from his diary and other unpublished documents London, Religious Tract Society (1868) 378 pp. [Full text]
topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Mary Woolnoth area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Lothbury and Woolnoth - histories of the combined parish of St Margaret Lothbury and St Mary Woolnoth from the parish website.

Church of St Mary Woolnoth - entry in the National Heritage List for England.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Mary Woolnoth parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch Haw [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Brooke, J.M.S. and Hallen, A.W.C. The transcript of the registers of the united parishes of S. Mary Woolnoth and S. Mary Woolchurch Haw, in the city of London, from their commencement 1538 to 1760. To which is prefixed a short account of both parishes, list of rectors and churchwardens, chantries, &c. together with some interesting extracts from the churchwardens' accounts. London, Printed by Bowles & Sons, (1886) 522 pp. [Full text]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Mary Woolnoth.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Mary Woolnoth.

You can see pictures of St Mary Woolnoth which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Mary Woolnoth to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Mary Woolnoth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Mary Woolnoth parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Mary Woolnoth - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the S t Mary Woolnoth and St Mary Woolnoth London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Mary Woolnoth and (ii) St Mary Woolnoth With St Mary Woolchurch Haw, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Mary Woolnoth parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.