Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Mary at Hill

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Mary at Hill

"ST. MARY-AT-HILL, the church of, is situated on the west side of St. Mary's-hill, Lower Thames-street, and is so named from its situation. It is called in ancient records St Mariæ ad Montem. This church is of considerable antiquity, since a chantery was founded in it by Rose de Wrytell, in 1330. . . It was rebuilt in 1497, and was much damaged by the great fire of 1666. After a substantial repair, between the years 1672 and 1677, by Sir Christopher Wren, the parish of St. Andrew Hubbard was united to it by act of parliament. The advowson of this church appears always to have been in private hands, till about the year 1638, when it was purchased by the parishioners, but since its union with the parish of St. Andrew Hubbard, the patronage of which is in the Duke of Northumberland, the parish and his Grace present alternately. It is a rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and its present rector is the Rev. W. J. Rodber, who was instituted by the parishioners in 1826." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 92 in the above map - is located in Billingsgate Ward.
The church dates from before the Great Fire, and was rebuilt by Wren 1670-6, tower 1780, interior 1843.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Mary at Hill.

topup
topup

Church History

History page, on the St Mary at Hill website.

St Mary at Hill and Lovat Lane - history and photographs, from the London Inheritance website.

Hauer, Christian E., Jr. and Young, William A. A comprehensive history of the London church and parish of St. Mary, the Virgin, Aldermanbury : the phoenix of Aldermanbury Lewiston [N.Y.] : E. Mellen Press (c1994) 435pp. [Con tents]
Stamp, Gavin. The unhappy fate of Christopher Wren's city churches. Apollo (2 Sep 2014) [Full text]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Mary at Hill parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Presbyterian is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Mary at Hill with St Andrew Hubbard.

Littlehales, Henry (ed.), The Medieval Records of A London City Church St Mary At Hill, 1420-1559 (London, 1905) [British History Online, and University of Michigan]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Mary at Hill.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Mary at Hill.

You can see pictures of St Mary at Hill which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Mary at Hill to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Mary at Hill has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Mary at Hill parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

Shaping the Parish: St Mary at Hill, London, in the Fifteenth Century, by Clive Burgess.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Mary at Hill - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Mary at Hill district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Mary at Hill and (ii) St Mary At Hill With St Andrew Hubbard, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Schools

The 16th Century Choir School at St. Mary-at-Hill, by Louise Rayment.

The 16th Century Choir School at St. Mary-at-Hill by Louse Rayment.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Mary at Hill parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.