Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Michael Bassishaw

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Michael Bassishaw

"ST. MICHAEL BASSISHAW, the church of, stands on the western side of Basing- hall-street, and derives its name from its dedication to St. Michael the Archangel, and its addition from Basing's haw or hall. The ancient church was originally founded about the year 1140, and was then in the patronage of the Prior and Canons of St. Bartholomew, in Smithfield. . . The old church, which was a beautiful specimen of the ecclesiastical architecture of our ancestors, was entirely destroyed by the fire of London, and the present building was erected in its stead, from the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. It is a plain useful structure, of brick and stone, of no very striking character. The spire has an air of originality, and is skilfully contrived. This church is a rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's. The present rector is the Rev. Christopher Packe, a Minor Canon of St. Paul's, who was instituted in 1821." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 12 in the above map - is located in Bassishaw Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, sold 1899, demolished 1900.
The parish was later united with St Lawrence Jewry 1897.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Michael Bassishaw.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Michael Bassishaw parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Michael Bassishaw [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Michael Bassishaw.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Michael Bassishaw.

You can see pictures of St Michael Bassishaw which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Michael Bassishaw to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Michael Bassishaw has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Michael Bassishaw parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Michael Bassishaw - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Michael Bassishaw district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Michael Bassishaw, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Michael Bassishaw parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.