Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Michael Cornhill

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Michael Cornhill

"ST. MICHAEL, Cornhill, the church of, is situated on the south side of Cornhill, up St. Michael's-alley. Its name, like that of [St. Michael, Bassishaw], is derived from the saint to which it is dedicated, and from its situation. The advowson of this church was anciently in the Abbot and Canons of Evesham, who, in 1133, granted it to a priest named Sparling. . . The ancient church was destroyed, all but the tower, by the great fire of 1666, and was began to be rebuilt by Sir Christopher Wren, in 1672. Its lofty tower, an humble imitation of that of Magdalen College, Oxford, was rebuilt also by Wren, in 1722. . . The tower, which is, at a distance, one of the most striking ornaments of the city, is 130 feet high to the top of the pinnacles. For scientific construction it is unrivalled, for its kind, but Sir Christopher's ignorance of the style, character and beauties of the ancient ecclesiastical architecture of England, his few works of the sort abundantly proclaim. The church is a rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the Drapers' Company. The present rector is the Rev. T. R. Wrench, who was instituted in 1793." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 50 in the above map - is located in Cornhill Ward.
The church dates from before the Great Fire, and was rebuilt by Wren 1669-72, tower added by Hawksmoor 1781-24.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Michael Cornhill.

topup

Biography

A length biographical account of John Stow, author of the Annals of England, and the Survey of London, who was born in the parish of St Michael Cornhill abt 1515, is given in A survey of the cities of London and Westminster, borough of Southwark, ... By John Stow, John Mottley (1733) pp.318-333.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Michael Cornhill area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Parish Profile, from the St Michael Cornhill website.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Michael Cornhill parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Michael Cornhill [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Overall, William Henry (ed.) The accounts of the churchwardens of the parish of St. Michael, Cornhill, in the city of London, from 1456 to 1608. With miscellaneous memoranda contained in the Great book of accounts, and extracts from the proceedings of the vestry, from 1563 to 1607. [London?] Printed with the consent of the vestry, for private circulation only, by Alfred James Waterlow, churchwarden. [1871] 282 pp. [Full text]
Chester, Joseph Lemuel. The parish registers of St. Michael, Cornhill, London, containing the marriages, baptisms, and burials from 1546 to 1754. London, [Mitchell & Hughes] (1882) 348 pp. [Full text]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Michael Cornhill.

You can see pictures of St Michael Cornhill which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Michael Cornhill to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Michael Cornhill has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Michael Cornhill parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Michael Cornhill - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Michael Cornhill district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Michael Cornhill, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Michael Cornhill parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.