Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Michael Queenhithe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Michael Queenhithe

"ST. MICHAEL, Queenhithe, the church of, named from its saint and situation, stands on the north side of Upper Thames-street, opposite Queenhithe; which was formerly called Corn-hithe, as all the corn brought from the western parts of the county was landed here. The earliest mention of this church was under the name of St. Michael de Cornhithe in 1181. . . The ancient church having been destroyed by the fire of London, the present structure was erected in its stead, by Sir Christopher Wren in 1677. It consists of a well proportioned body, lighted by two series of windows; the tower is plain, with a well proportioned spire, terminated by a ship by way of a vane, 135 feet from the ground. On its rebuilding after the great fire the parish of Trinity the Less was united to it by act of parliament. . . The present rector is the Rev T. L. Strong, who was instituted by the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's in 1822." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 75 in the above map - is located in Queenhithe Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, demolished 1875.
The parish was later united with St James Garlickhithe 1875.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Michael Queenhithe.

topup

Biography

Bartholomew Fish of Queenhithe - in the Mr Pepys' Small Change website.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Michael Queenhithe parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Michael Queenhithe with Holy Trinity the Less include: Lutheran and Roman Catholic (German) [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Michael Queenhithe.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Michael Queenhithe.

You can see pictures of St Michael Queenhithe which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Michael Queenhithe to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Michael Queenhithe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Michael Queenhithe parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Michael Queenhithe - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Michael Queenhithe district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Michael Queenhithe and (ii) St Michael Queenhithe With Holy Trinity The Less, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Michael Queenhithe parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.