Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Michael Wood-street

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Michael Wood-street

"St. MICHAEL WOOD STREET, the church of, is situated on the west side of Wood-Street, Cheapside. The original church is of some antiquity, as John de Eppewell is recorded to have been rector In 1328. The old church was destroyed in the common conflagration of 1666, and the present church was erected a few years after from the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. . . After the fire of London, the adjacent parish of St. Mary Staining was united to it by act of parliament; the patronage of which devolving to the crown, after the reformation, it is now in the gift of the Lord Chancellor, and the united rectory is presented to alternately by his lordship and the parishioners. The united parishes are now a rectory in the city, diocese, and archdeaconry of London, and in the before-mentioned patronage. The present rector is tbe Rev. J. A. Busfield, D.D., who was instituted by the parishioners in 1821." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

27-St Michael Wood-street    TQ322815 detached part - main area at TQ323813

This parish - nos. 7, and 27 in the above map - is located in Cripplegate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, demolished 1897.
The parish was later united with St Alban Wood Street 1894, St Vedast Foster Lane 1954.

 

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Michael Wood-street.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Michael Wood-street parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Independent/Congregational is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Michael Wood-street.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Michael Wood-street.

You can see pictures of St Michael Wood-street which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Michael Wood-street to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Michael Wood-street has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Michael Wood-street parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Michael Wood-street - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Michael Wood Street district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Michael Wood-street and (ii) St Michael Wood Street With St Mary Staining, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

The apothecary of Wood Street - Dr John Scarborough.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Michael Wood-street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.