Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Michael le Quern

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Michael le Quern

"ST. MICHAEL-LE-QUERNE, the church of, stood before the fire of London at the west end of Cheapside between Blow-bladder- street (the short street from the end of Cheapside to Newgate-street, by St. Martin's-le-Grand,) and Paternoster-row, and had a narrow passage at the west end. In 1181 it was a chapelry, and the first rector was buried in it in 1461. In ancient records it is called St. Michael ad Bladum, that is at the corn, which became corrupted to querne, which is still the old, English or Saxon name of a hand corn-mill. It is also in some records called St. Michael de Macello, from its vicinity to the meat market. The old church was burned by the fire of London, and the site whereon it stood was by act of parliament laid into the street, and the parish united to that of St. Vedast Foster." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 29 in the above map - is located in Farringdon Within Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Vedast Foster Lane.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Michael le Quern.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Michael le Quern parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Vedast Foster Lane with St Michael-le-Querne [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Littledale, W.A. (ed) The Registers of St. Vedast, Foster Lane, 1558 to 1836, and St. Michael Le Quern, 1685 to 1836. Harleian Society, London (1902-03) [Full text: Vol.1, Vol.2]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Michael le Quern.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Michael le Quern.

You can see pictures of St Michael le Quern which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Michael le Quern to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Michael le Quern has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Michael le Quern parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Michael le Quern - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Michael Le Quern district.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Michael le Quern parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.