Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Nicholas Acons

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Nicholas Acons

"The Church of St. Nicholas Acons stood on the West Side of Nicholas-lane, near Lombard-street. It was a rectory subject to the Archdeacon of LONDON, saving only as to Wills and Administrations, which belonged to the Commissary. Sir John Bridges, Brug or Bruges, (for by all these Names he is written in Stow, Mayor of LONDON in 1520, repaired this Church, and embattled it, and was there buried. . . This Parish Church was repaired and beautified in 1615, at the cost of the Parishioners; but being burnt down by the dreadful Fire, was afterwards annex'd to that of St. Edmund Lombard-street, which is made the Parochial Church for the Inhabitants of both these Parishes, the profits thereof, in lieu of Tithes, are made of the yearly value of 180l. to the Incumbent. . . And the site of this Church remains now only as a Burying-place for the Inhabitants of this Parish." [John Stow. A survey of the cities of London and Westminster . . . (1733-35) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 62 in the above map - is located in Langbourn Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Edmund the King and Martyr 1670.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Nicholas Acons.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Nicholas Acons area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Nicholas Acons parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Edmund the King with St Nicholas Acons [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Brigg, William. The Register book of the parish of St. Nicholas Acons, London, 1539-1812. Leeds: Walker and Laycock (1890) [160 pp. ]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Nicholas Acons.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Nicholas Acons.

St Nicholas Acons - brief description, with section of a Sketch Map of London under Henry II, circa 1190, showing location of St Nicholas Acons.

You can see pictures of St Nicholas Acons which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Nicholas Acons to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Nicholas Acons has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Nicholas Acons parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Nicholas Acons - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the  St Nicholas Acons and St Nicholas Acons London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Nicholas Acons and (ii) St Edmund The King With St Nicholas Acons, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Nicholas Acons parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.