Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Nicholas Cole Abbey

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Nicholas Cole Abbey

"St. NICHOLAS COLE ABBEY, the church of, is situated on the south side of Old Fish-street, Doctors'-Commons. . . There was a church on the same site prior to 1377, when, according to Stowe, the steeple and south aisle were rebuilt. The church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and the present church built by Sir Christopher Wren. It is a handsome and well proportioned church, built of brick and stone. . . Its tower is a specimen of Wren's symetry; but in the spire, where he has aimed at originality, he has scarcely escaped absurdity, if not ugliness. It was finished in 1677, and is the first church built and completed after the fire. This church is a rectory, the advowson of which was anciently in the Dean and Chapter of St. Martin-le-Grand. . . After the great fire, the parish of St. Nicholas Olaves was united to this, which is a rectory of very ancient foundation. . . The united rectory is in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and the advowson is, from the before-named union of the parishes, in the alternate gift of the Lord Chancellor, for the crown, and the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's. The present rector is the Rev. J. Mitchell, who was instituted by the Lord Chancellor in 1817." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 72 in the above map - is located in Queenhithe Ward.
The church dates from before the Great Fire, and was rebuilt by Wren 1671-81.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Nicholas Cole Abbey.

topup
topup

Church History

St. Nicholas, Cole Abbey - A Bombed Church and Film Location, a well-illustrated account, from the London Inheritance website.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Nicholas Cole Abbey parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Nicholas Cole Abbey.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Nicholas Cole Abbey.

You can see pictures of St Nicholas Cole Abbey which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Nicholas Cole Abbey to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Nicholas Cole Abbey has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Nicholas Cole Abbey parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Nicholas Cole Abbey - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Nicholas Cole Abbey district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Nicholas Cole Abbey and (ii) St Nicholas Cole Abbey With St Nicholas Olave, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Nicholas Cole Abbey parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.