Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Olave Hart Street

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Olave Hart Street

"St. OLAVE, Hart street, the church of, is situated on the south side of Hart-street, Crutched-friars, and derives its name and addition, from being dedicated to St. Olave, or Olaus, King of Norway, who, from his strong attachment to the christian religion, took part with the Christian English, against the Pagan Danes. A church stood on this site, dedicated to the same patron, before the year 1319. The present church is of considerable antiquity, as it escaped the ravages of the great fire of London. Since that time it has been often substantially repaired and beautifed. This church is a rectory, the advowson of which has always been in private hands, and is now in the patronage of the parishioners. It is in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and the present rector is the Rev. H. B. Owen, D.D., who was instituted by the parishioners in 1794." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 90 in the above map - is located in Tower Ward.
The church survived the Great Fire but it was badly damaged in 1941 and restored post WWII.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Olave Hart Street.

topup

Biography

Samuel Pepys At St Olave's - a lavishly illustrated account, from Spitalfields Life.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Olave Hart Street area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

History & Architecture at St Olave Hart Street - from the church website.

St Olave Hart Street - description of the church from the Medieval London website.

Povah, Alfred. The annals of the parishes of St. Olave Hart Street and Allhallows Staining, in the city of London. Ecclesiastically united, A.D. 1870. London, Simpkin, Marshall, Hamilton, Kent & Co. (1894) 429pp. [Full text]
Wellard, Tom. History of the united benefice of St. Olave Hart Street and All Hallows Staining with St. Catherine Coleman Typewritten (1966?) 277pp. [Guildhall Library]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Olave Hart Street parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Olave Hart Street [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Bannerman, William Bruce. The registers of St. Olave, Hart street, London. 1563-1700. London [Printed by Roworth and company, limited] (1916) 362 pp. [Full Text]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Olave Hart Street.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Olave Hart Street.

You can see pictures of St Olave Hart Street which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Olave Hart Street to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Olave Hart Street has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Olave Hart Street parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Olave Hart Street - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Olave Hart Street district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Olave Hart Street, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Olave Hart Street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.