Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Olave Old Jewry

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Olave Old Jewry

"ST. OLAVE JEWRY, the church of, stands on the west side of the Old Jewry, is of very ancient foundation, and was originally called St. Olave Upwell, from its patron saint, and the well at the east end in which a pump is now fixed. It was afterwards called Jewry, from its vicinity becoming the allotted residence of the Jews in London. The parish is ancient, and was a rectory, in the gift of the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, till about the year 1181. . . After the fire of London the parish of St. Martin Pomary, in Ironmonger-lane, was united to this parish, which being a rectory. . . The ancient church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and the present one erected on its site for the united parishes by Sir Christopher Wren. It was began in 1673, and finished in 1676, and is a plain neat, church of brick, with stone dressings, to the doors and windows. The united parishes are as before-mentioned, a vicarage and rectory, in the patronage of the crown, and in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London. Its present rector and vicar is the Rev. Robert Hamilton, D.D., who was instituted by the Lord Chancellor in 1797." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 24 in the above map - is located in Coleman Street Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren 1670-6, was demolished in 1888-1891 except for the tower.
The parish was later united with St Margaret Lothbury 1886.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Olave Old Jewry.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Olave Old Jewry area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Olave Old Jewry parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Presbyterian is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Olave Old Jewry.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Olave Old Jewry.

You can see pictures of St Olave Old Jewry which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Olave Old Jewry to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Olave Old Jewry has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Olave Old Jewry parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Olave Old Jewry - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Olave Old Jewry and St Olave Old Jewry London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Olave Old Jewry and (ii) St Olave Old Jewry With St Martin Pomeroy, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Olave Old Jewry parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.