Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Olave Silver-street

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Olave Silver-street

"ST. OLAVE, Silver-street, the church of, was situated, before the fire of London, at the south-west corner of Silver-street, Aldersgate, but being consumed by the fire of London, the parish was united by act of parliament to that of St Alban, Wood-street, and the church was not rebuilt." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 8 in the above map - is located in Aldersgate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Alban Wood Street 1670, St Vedast Foster Lane 1954.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Olave Silver-street.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Olave Silver-street area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Olave Silver-street parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Alban Wood Street with St Olave Silver Street include: Independent/Congregational and Presbyterian [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Olave Silver-street.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Olave Silver-street.

You can see pictures of St Olave Silver-street which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Olave Silver-street to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Olave Silver-street has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Olave Silver-street parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Olave Silver-street - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Olave Silver Street district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Olave Silver-street and (ii) St Alban Wood Street With St Olave Silver Street, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Olave Silver-street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.