Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Peter Cornhill

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Peter Cornhill

"ST. PETER, Cornhill the church of, is situated near the south-east corner of Cornhill, and is of very ancient foundation, being given in 1298 by William Kingston to his tenement in Grass-street. The old church was destroyed by the fire of London, and the present substantial edifice erected in its stead by Sir Christopher Wren. The spire is surmounted by a ball, upon which is a vane in the form of a key, the ancient emblem of St. Peter. This church is a rectory, the patronage of which was anciently in the family of the Nevils; one of whom Lady Alice, relict of Sir Hugh Nevil, made a feoffment thereof in 1362, to Richard, Earl of Arundel and Surrey. After passing through various hands, it was conveyed in 1411 by Sir Richard Whittington, and others, to the Lord Mayor and Commonalty of the city of London, in whom the advowson still continues. It is in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and the present rector is the Rev. John Page Wood, who was instituted in 1824." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 51 in the above map - is located in Cornhill Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren 1667-87.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Peter Cornhill.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Peter Cornhill area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

St Peter's Cornhill - from the London Gardens Online website.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Peter Cornhill parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Peter Cornhill [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Peter Cornhill.

You can see pictures of St Peter Cornhill which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Peter Cornhill to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Peter Cornhill has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Peter Cornhill parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Peter Cornhill - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the  St Peter Cornhill and St Peter Cornhill London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Peter Cornhill, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Peter Cornhill parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.