Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Peter West-Cheap

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Peter West-Cheap

"ST. PETER CHEAP, the church of, stood, before the fire of London, at the corner of Wood-street, Cheapside; but being a small parish it was united to that of St. Matthew, Friday-street, and not rebuilt." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 40 in the above map - is located in Farringdon Within Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt, but part of the churchyard remains.
The parish was later united with St Matthew Friday Street 1670, St Vedast Foster Lane 1882.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Peter West-Cheap.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Peter West-Cheap area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

St Peter Cheap - in London Gardens Online.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Peter West-Cheap parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Matthew Friday Street with St Peter Cheap [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Peter West-Cheap.

You can see pictures of St Peter West-Cheap which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Peter West-Cheap to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Peter West-Cheap has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Peter West-Cheap parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Peter West-Cheap - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Peter Westcheap and St Peter Westcheap London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Peter West-Cheap and (ii) St Matthew Friday Street With St Peter Cheap, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Peter West-Cheap parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.