Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Stephen Coleman-street

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Stephen Coleman-street

"ST. STEPHEN, Coleman-street, the church of, is situated near the south end of the west side of this street, and derives its name and addition from its dedication to St. Stephen, the protomartyr, and from its situation. This church is of great antiquity, and was originally a chapel belonging to the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, who, between 1171 and 1181, granted it to the Prior and Abbot of Butley, in Suffolk. It was made parochial in 1456, under the patronage of the said prior and abbot, till its suppression by Henry VIII., when it came to the crown. . . The ancient church shared the common fate in the great fire of 1606, and the present structure was finished in 1676, from the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. The advowson is a vicarage, in the city, archdeaconry and diocese of London, and in the patronage of the parishioners. The present incumbent is the Rev. Josiah Pratt, who was elected by the parishioners in 1823." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 13 in the above map - is located in Coleman Street Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, damaged 1940, site sold.
The parish was later united with St Margaret Lothbury 1954.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Stephen Coleman-street.

topup

Biography

Pratt, Josiah. Memoir of the Rev. Josiah Pratt, B.D., late Vicar of St. Stephen's, Coleman Street, and for twenty-one years Secretary of the Church Missionary Society. London: Seeleys (1849) 538 pp. [Full text]
topup
topup

Church History

Summary history of St Stephen Coleman-street parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Stephen Coleman-street parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Stephen Coleman Street include: Baptist, Church of Scotland in England/Presbyterian Church in England, Independent/Congregational, Presbyterian, Roman Catholic, Unitarian, and Welsh Baptist [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Stephen Coleman-street.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Stephen Coleman-street.

You can see pictures of St Stephen Coleman-street which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Stephen Coleman-street to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Stephen Coleman-street has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Coleman Street (including Bell Alley and Swan Alley), from the website of the 'People, Property and Charity: The Clothworkers' Company,1500-1688' project.

Potions, Powders and Ointments: a Post-Medieval Apothecary or Druggist Assemblage and Coleman Street, a detailed well-illustrated account by Jon Sygrave and others of an archaeological investigation.

Johns, Adrian. Coleman Street. Huntingdon Library Quarterly, vol. 71, No. 1 (2008)pp. 33-54. [Full text]
topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Stephen Coleman-street - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Stephen Coleman and St Stephen Coleman Street district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Stephen Coleman, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Stephen Coleman-street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.