Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Stephen Walbrook

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Stephen Walbrook

"St- STEPHEN, Walbrook, the church of, is situated at the north-east corner of Walbrook, and is dedicated, like the preceding, to the patronage of St. Stephen. . . In 1428, Robert Chicheley, Mayor of London, purchased the ground now occupied by the present church and cemetery of the Grocers' Company, and the new church was finished in 1439. In 1432, Robert Whittington, Citizen and Draper, Knight of the Bath, purchased the advowson from the Duke of Bedford. From him it passed into a family named Lee, one of whom presented to it in 1474, and afterwards gave it to the Grocers' Company, in whom the patronage has remained ever since. The old church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and the present much celebrated edifice erected its place, by Sir Christopher Wren. . . . This church is reckoned by many persons to be Wren's masterpiece. . . The parish of St. Bennett Sherehog (which see) was united to this parish after the fire of London, and these united parishes form a rectory. . . It is in the city, archdeaconry and diocese of London, and the present rector is the Rev. G. S. Townley, Vicar of Great Totham, who was instituted by the Grocers' Company in 1784." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 47 in the above map - is located in Walbrook Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren 1672-7.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Stephen Walbrook.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Stephen Walbrook area or see them printed on a map.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Stephen Walbrook parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Stephen Walbrook with St Benet Sherehog [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Bannerman, William Bruce; Bannerman, William Bruce, jr (eds.). The registers of St. Stephen's, Walbrook, and of St. Benet Sherehog, London. London (1920) 208 pp. [Full text]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Stephen Walbrook.

You can see pictures of St Stephen Walbrook which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Stephen Walbrook to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Stephen Walbrook has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Stephen Walbrook parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Stephen Walbrook - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Stephen Walbrook district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Stephen Walbrook and (ii) St Stephen Walbrook With St Benet Sherehog, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Stephen Walbrook parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.