Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Swithin London Stone

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Swithin London Stone

"ST. SWITHIN'S, London Stone, the church of, is situated at the south-west corner of St. Swithin's-lane, Cannon-street, and derives its name from being dedicated to St. Swithin, Bishop of Winchester and Chancellor to King Egbert, who died in 806. By ancient records it appears there was a church upon this spot, dedicated to the same saint, prior to 1330. This church was destroyed by the fire of London, and the present, plain and substantial building erected by Sir Christopher Wren, in its stead. Against the southern side of this church, next to Cannon-street, is carefully preserved that relic of antiquity, LONDON STONE. On the rebuilding of this church, the parish of St. Mary Bothall or Bothaw, was united to that of St. Swithin, by act of parliament. The living is a rectory in the city of London, in the province of Canterbury, and in the alternate patronage of the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury and William Thorpe, Esq. The present rector is the Rev. H. G. Watkins, who was instituted by the latter in 1806." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 64 in the above map - is located in Walbrook Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, damaged 1940, site sold c.1960.
The parish was later united with St Stephen Walbrook 1954.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Swithin London Stone.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Swithin London Stone parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Swithun London Stone with St Mary Bothaw include: Baptist and Presbyterian [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Swithin London Stone.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Swithin London Stone.

You can see pictures of St Swithin London Stone which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Swithin London Stone to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Swithin London Stone has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Swithin London Stone parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

The London Stone: from myth and mystery to contemporary planning - paper by David Graves to the Guildhall Historical Association.

The Forgotten History of the London Stone, an Artifact Linked to Aeneas, King Arthur, and John Dee - on the Ancient Origins website.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Swithin London Stone - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the  St Swithin London and St Swithin London Stone districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Swithin London Stone and (ii)St Swithun London Stone With St Mary Bothaw, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Swithin London Stone parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.