Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Norfolk Church Records -

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Norfolk Church Records -

Baptisms, Marriages and Burials

See these leaflets produced by the Norfolk Record Office:

Most parishes have deposited their older registers of baptisms, banns, marriages and burials at the Norfolk Record Office (NRO) in Norwich, which also holds Bishop's and Archdeacons' Transcripts. Records for some parishes in the west of the county are at the Wisbech and Fenland Museum (parishes in the deaneries of Lynn Marshland and Wisbech) or the Cambridgeshire Record Office (Welney parish).

Nonconformist registers have been deposited at the National Archives, near London. Many have been microfilmed and are available at libraries, record offices and LDS centres.

For Catholic records see:
    Gandy, Michael
Catholic Missions and Registers 1700-1880.
Volume 2, The Midlands and East Anglia.
[ISBN 0952053527, 1993]

Microform copies of original registers, transcripts, indexes, etc, are quite widely available. See the list below for more information.

See also Norfolk Church Records

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Pat Newby.
February 2010


Baptisms, Banns, Marriages and Burials

Baptisms

Baptisms and Marriages

  • LDS: International Genealogical Index (IGI)
    This is quite limited in its coverage of Norfolk records. Apart from the online search above, it may also be seen at libraries and LDS Family History Centers.
    To limit searches to particular parishes it is necessary to know the LDS Batch Numbers. See:
       - IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk.
       - To identify other batch numbers see Finding LDS Batch Numbers
  • LDS: BVRI: The British Vital Records Index (Second Edition), on CDROM, contains baptisms and marriages for a few Norfolk parishes. It includes the parishes which were in the First Edition. Most are Church of England records, but there are some Nonconformist records. The parishes are:
    Aylmerton, Barningham Northwood, Brandiston, Crownthorpe, Dunston, Hemblington, Hemsby, Houghton-in-the-Hole (ie Houghton St Giles), Lakenham, Lammas (ie Buxton Lammas), Langford, Norwich (St Martin at Oak, St Peter Mountergate), Riddlesworth and Gasthorpe, Roydon near Diss, Runton, Sprowston, Sprowston and Beeston, Stanford, Stoke Holy Cross, Tofts West, Walsingham Great, Welney, and Great Yarmouth (St Andrew, St Nicholas, St Peter).
    See BVRI Norfolk Parishes: Births and Christenings
    and BVRI Norfolk Parishes: Marriages
    for full details, including the dates covered.

Marriage Licence Bonds

  • Norfolk Family History Society
    Norfolk Peculiar Jurisdictions. Index to Probate Records 1416-1857, and Index of Marriage Licence Bonds 1624-1860.
    [Norwich, Norfolk and Norwich Genealogical Society, Norfolk Genealogy volume 16, 1984]
  • Norfolk Family History Society
    Norfolk Archdeaconry Marriage Licence Bonds 1780-1812 (held at the Norfolk Record Office).
    [Norwich, Norfolk Family History Society, CD, 2009]
  • Norfolk Family History Society
    Norfolk Archdeaconry Marriage Licence Bonds 1813-1837 (held at the Norfolk Record Office).
    [Norwich, Norfolk and Norwich Genealogical Society, Norfolk Genealogy volume 25, 1993]
  • Norfolk Family History Society
    Norwich Archdeaconry Marriage Licence Bonds 1813-1837 (held at the Norfolk Record Office).
    [Norwich, Norfolk and Norwich Genealogical Society, Norfolk Genealogy volume 23, 1991]

Marriages

  • Boyd's Marriage Index: 1538-1837
    • This is an index to English marriages that was created by Percival Boyd. It contains marriages in 275 Norfolk parishes (about 40% of the total), from parish registers, marriage licences and Bishop's Transcripts. The dates covered are from 1538 to 1837, though these vary for each parish depending on the availability and survival of records.
    • The index contains the surname and forename of the bride and groom, the year and the parish, and may be abbreviated. It is always necessary to check the original entry.
    • There is an online list of Norfolk parishes and the years covered. This is a link to an archived copy.
    • There is a published list of parishes and the years covered in:
          List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index.
          [Society of Genealogists, 1994]
    • The Index is available on microform at libraries, record offices and LDS centres, and on Findmypast on a pay-to-view basis.
  • Phillimore's Marriage Registers: 1538-1837
  • Norfolk FHS Marriage Index: 1801-1837
    • The Norfolk Marriage Index CD for 1801 to 1837 (this is a link to an archived copy) includes marriages from the 705 Norfolk parishes having relevant records, plus 25 Suffolk parishes mostly in the area around Lowestoft.

Burials

  • The National Burial Index (NBI) has been published on CDROM by the Federation of Family History Societies. There are about 105,000 Norfolk entries, mainly for the parishes around East Dereham, contributed by the Mid-Norfolk FHS. See the list of Parishes and Dates.
  • Mid-Norfolk FHS: Burial Index
    This is part of the National Burial Index Project. It contains entries taken from the Parish Burial Registers for the parishes within a 10 mile radius of East Dereham. The Mid-Norfolk FHS will undertake searches (for a fee).
  • Ashmolean Brass Rubbings Collection.
    Rubbings of Monumental Brasses in Norfolk parishes.
    Dates are from 1347 to 1654 (with one of 1737) but mainly 15th and 16th centuries. There are very few surnames given.