GENUKI Home page

England England   Contents Contents   Towns and Parishes Nottinghamshire
Towns & Parishes
  All of Nottinghamshire Information related to
all of Nottinghamshire
  What's New on this siteWhat's New
on this site


"Nottinghamshire, Nottingham, or Notts, north-midland county of England, bounded N. by Yorkshire, E. by Lincolnshire, S. by Leicestershire, and W. by Derbyshire; greatest length, N. to S., about 50 miles; greatest breadth, E. to W., about 25 miles; area, 527,752 acres, population 391,815. ... The soil is varied, but cannot be spoken of as being highly productive. Green crops are the principal growth, and the common cereals are cultivated. Hop plantations are numerous, while in proximity to Nottingham and Newark there are many market gardens. Magnesian limestone and old red sandstone overlying coal prevail in the W.; in the other districts are formations of marl, new red sandstone, and lias, with quartz and gravel in the Forest. In a few places coal is worked. The principal manufactures are laces of various descriptions, in recent years a great development being apparent in the production of lace curtains. Hosiery manufacturers, woollen mills, cotton mills, and iron foundries are also actively productive. Nottinghamshlre comprises 6 wapentakes, 273 pars. with parts of 5 others, the parliamentary and municipal borough of Nottingham (3 members), and the municipal borough of East Retford and Newark. It is almost entirely in the diocese of Southwell."
[BARTHOLOMEW's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887]


Map showing location of the county.

Archives and Libraries

For most archives you will need 2 passport-sized photos with you for your ID (Reader Card or Reader Ticket) and something with a signature on it, like a cheque card, credit card or passport. A Reader Ticket may be good for several years. Nottingham Archives are now using the CARN system (County Archives Research Network) for reader cards, but many do it the old-fashioned way. Once you have a CARN card, it can be used in any of the record offices that use CARN.

You may want to pick up the Archive booklet: "Nottinghamshire Parish and Denominational Registers, A Finding List," ISBN 0 900943 97 1. The information is minimal in detail, but it is a good place to start learning about what is in the archives.

Return to top of page.


Due to size, this information has been moved to our Census Page.

Return to top of page.

Church History

Return to top of page

Church Records

Return to top of page.

Civil Registration

Certificates of birth, death and marriage can be obtained from the Superintendent Registrars at the following District Register Offices:

(To determine which Register Office is appropriate for various places in the county, see the Nottinghamshire Gazetteer).

If ordering from a District Office, please note the following:

Return to top of page.

Emigration and Immigration

Return to top of page.


Return to top of page.


Return to top of page.


Return to top of page


Return to top of page.

Military Records

This section has been moved to our Military Records page to provide more information.

Return to top of page.

Names, Personal

This section has been enlarged. Please see our Personal Names page for various resources.

Return to top of page


Return to top of page.


Return to top of page

Politics and Governance

Return to top of page.

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Poorlaw records generally break down into several categories. The term "Poor Law Papers" is a group title which covers various legal documents that existed to cover the parishes where expenditure on a given person may be required. All these can date from 1601 to 1834. There are many Nottinghamshire parishes that do not have poor law records archived under the parish name. The Quarter Sessions poor law indexes between them cover the whole of Nottinghamshire and therefore include the parishes not covered by parish chest documents. The Petty Sessions indexes cover smaller areas but still include parishes without their own poor law docs.

We have these web pages to offer you for specific resources:

In 1834 the Poor Law Amendment Act established Poorlaw Unions that allowed a group of parishes to be served by a single entity that provided for the poor. A Poorlaw union could be anywhere from 2 or three parishes to 60 or more. Some parishes had formed nacient unions before 1834. Nottingham county was covered by the following Poorlaw Unions:

  1. Basford
  2. Bingham
  3. East Retford
  4. Mansfield
  5. Newark
  6. Nottingham
  7. Radford
  8. Southwell
  9. Thurgarton Incorporation
  10. Worksop
Return to top of page.


    Year  Inhabitants
1801 152,573
1811 175,966
1821 203,939
1831 243,605
1841 270,731
1871 319,758
1901 596,705
Return to top of page

Postal and Shipping Guides

Return to top of page

Probate Records

Return to top of page


Return to top of page.

Valid HTML 4.01

[Last updated: 5-January-2015 - Louis R. Mills]

Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.