Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Beeston

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Beeston

"Beeston, four miles west south west of Nottingham, is a populous village and parish, upon the road to Ashby-de-la-Zouch, and near the Trent Canal, having the Nottingham and Derby railway crossing the parish, and a station. It comprises 3,016 inhabitants, and 1,440 acres of land, of the rateable value of £4,570 5s. P.S. Broughton Esq., Tunstall Hall, is lord of the manor and impropriator, but Lord Middleton, Rev. John Wolley, T. Fellows Esq., and others, have also estates here. An extensive silk mill has been erected on the site of the old one burnt down in the Reform Riots of 1831, which employs 250 workmen. There are also in the village many stocking frames and lace machines. A village library was established in 1837 by shares and contributions of fourpence per month, and it now contains 800 volumes, and is conducted by a committee of 12 gentlemen. The feast is on the Sunday before St Peter, or on that day if it falls on a Sunday. The ancient church, dedicated to St John the Baptist, and appropriated to Lenton Priory, was taken down in 1842, and a handsome structure, dedicated to St Peter, was erected on its site in 1844 at a cost of upwards of £3,500. It is in the early English style, with a beautiful tower 74 feet high, which is to contain six bells,and was consecrated on Thursday, September 5th 1844, by the Bishop of Lincoln. The interior is neatly fitted up with open seats, and will accommodate about 800 people. The Duke of Devonshire is the patron, and the Rev. John Wolley M.A. is the incumbent. The vicarage has 32a 3r 23p os ancient glebe, besides an allotment of 75 a 2r 23p apportioned to it at the enclosure in 1809. The Wesleyans, Kilhamites, Primitive Methodists and Baptists have eacha chapel in the village." [WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Cemeteries

  • Tony BURTON tells us: "There was a graveyard around Beeston Parish Church which we used to walk through on our way to school - and also a Cemetery on the north side of Beeston off Wollaton Road."
     
  • John MELLORS advises: "By an order in council dated 1888 all burials in Beeston Parish Church churchyard except in such wholly walled graves now existing in the said churchyard every coffin buried therein must be separately enclosed by stonework or brickwork properly cemented. The entries following unless otherwise specified all relate to burials in the consecrated portion of Beeston Parish Cemetery conducted by the parochial clery. A portion of the cemetery was consecrated by the Lord Bishop of Southwell on 20 Mar 1888."
     

Census

  • The parish was in the Beeston sub-district of the Basford Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 856
1851 H.O. 107 / 2127
1861 R.G. 9 / 2440
1871 R.G. 10 / 3488
1891 R.G. 12 / 2670

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Beeston area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

  • The original church here was built in the 11th century.
     
  • The old Anglican parish church of Saint John the Baptist was partially pulled down in 1842 and rebuilt. The new church was consecrated on 5 Sept. 1844.
     
  • The churchyard was closed to new burial plots in 1888.
     
  • The church seats 700.
     
  • Roger TEMPLEMAN has a photograph of the parish church on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2012.
     
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a different perspective of St. John the Baptist Church on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2013.
     

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1553.
     
  • Check out David Hallam's Beeston Village website for his files on family history and church records. To contact him vie e-mail, send your e-mail to David Hallam.
     
  • The church has its own Beeston Church website with an excellent interior photograph.
     
  • A Methodist church was built here in 1902.
     
  • Roger TEMPLEMAN has a photograph of the Methodist church in Stilwell Road on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2013.
     
  • Andrew ABBOTT has a photograph of the Catholic Church on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2008. This Catholic chapel is dedicated to Saint Peter.
     

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Beeston sub-district of the Basford Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     

Description and Travel

The town lies 123 miles north of London and 4 miles west-south-west of Nottingham. The River Trent runs through the parish, just south of the town. The parish covers about 1,600 acres.

The village is normally regarded as a suburb of Nottingham. If you are planning a visit:

  • Check out David HALLAM's Beeston Village website.
     
  • By automobile the A52 runs through the very northern part of the village and the A6005 arterial off the M1 at junction 25 runs through the heart of the village.
     
  • By rail, the Midlands Counties Railway provides service to Beeston station.
     
  • Nottingham city provides daily bus service as well.
     
You can see pictures of Beeston which are provided by:

Directories

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Beeston has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Beeston to another place.

History

  • In the early 1800s Beeston was known as a silk weaving centre.
     
  • In 1831 the only silk mill in town was burned to the ground during the Reform Riots. In the 1880s, the replacement mill employed over 500 workers.
     
  • By 1881 the town had a railway station on the Midland Railway, situated on Pasture Lane. At that time, about 78 trains passed through the station daily.
     
  • In 1901 the National Telephone Company built a factory here to manufacture telephone equipment.
     
  • Beeston is noted for being the home of William Abednego THOMPSON (1811 to 1880), a famous bare-knuckle boxer. His nicname became "Bendigo" because of his habit of bobbing and weaving as he moved around the ring. Although born in Sneinton, Bendigo retired to Beeston where he died after a falling down stairs in his house at age 69.
     

Military History

  • David LALLY has a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2009.
     
  • Andrew ABBOTT has another perspective of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2007.
     
  • David LALLY also has a photograph of the Crimean War Memorial outside the parish church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2010.
     
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the Crimean War Memorial plaque on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2013.
     

Military Records

Names, Geographical

The earliest recorded name given to the area was Bestune.

There is also a village of Beeston which is a suburb of Leeds in West Yorkshire. Make sure that you are researching in the correct place.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish of Nottinghamshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • This parish was in the Broxtowe Hundred or Wapentake.
     
  • In 1935 the Civil Parish of Beeston was abolished and an area of 1,428 acres and 14,759 people were amalgamated to create Beeston with Stapleford Civil Parish.
     
  • The remaining 173 acres and 1,256 people were amalgamated into Nottingham Civil Parish.
     
  • The parish is currently governed as wards in the Bruxtowe Burough Council.
     

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be herad in the Nottingham petty session hearings.
     
  • Beeston had its own workhouse for the poor by 1775. This was operated under the Poor Law statute of 1601. When the Gilbert Act was passed in 1782, this workhouse became a poor house for the elderly and infirm poor. Working or able-bodied poor were denied entrance. The web-page author does not know the history of this facility.
     
  • The Common Land was enclosed here by an Act passed in 1809. Parts of Bramcote Moor were enclosed in 1847.
     
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became a part of the Basford Poor Law Union.
     
  • Four Almshouses were built in 1897 in Broughton Street to commemorate the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Victoria .
     

Population

 Year Inhabitants
1801 948
1821 1,534
1831 2,530
1841 2,807
1851 3,016
1871 3,134
1881 4,479

Schools

  • A 5-member School Board was formed in 1881.
     
  • In 1881, there was a National School on Brown Lane.
     
  • In 1881, there was a Mill School for girls. It provided half-time education for girls in the employ of the silk mill run by John WATSON and his son.
     
  • In 1881, there was a Wesleyan School in the town.
     
  • Just to the north-west is the University of Nottingham.