We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Cropwell Bishop

"Cropwell Bishop is situated upon a gentle declivity on the east side of the Grantham Canal, one mile south of Cropwell Butler, and 4 miles south-east of Bingham. Its parish contains 640 inhabitants and 1,551 acres of strong clay land, the rateable value of which is £1,658 6s 5d. The principal part of the land belongs to the two prebendaries of Oxton, in Southwell Collegiate Church, who let it on renewable lease for the term of three lives. William Marshall Esq. is lord of the manor, and principal owner and impropriator. A court is held annually about Easter.
It was anciently called Crophill Bishop, from the round hill on the north side of the village, and from its being included in Doomsday Book, amongst the manors of the Archbishop of York, though it was afterwards given to Southwell Church and Lenton priory. Part of the wastes were enclosed in 1788, together with Cropwell Butler, each having a right in Persefield, and the remainder in 1803, when allotments were awarded in lieu of all the tithes." [WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Ratcliffe-on-Trent sub-district of the Bingham Registration District.
  • In a November, 1883, re-organization, the parish was re-assigned to the Bingham sub-district of the Bingham Registration District.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
CensusYear Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 853
1851 H.O. 107 / 3139
1861 R.G. 9 / 2485
1881 R.G. 11 / 3382
1891 R.G. 12 / 2718

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cropwell Bishop area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Giles.
  • The church was built circa 1215.
  • The tower, built in the early 15th century, is 20 feet square and 60 feet high.
  • The church chancel was restored in 1854.
  • There is a good photograph of St. Giles Church on Panoramio.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the church interior on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2012.

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1539 and is in good condition.
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Bingham.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1842 in Flemish Bond brickwork. The chapel still stands, but it is Grade II listed with British Heritage.
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the Methodist Chapel on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2011.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Ratcliffe-on-Trent sub-district of the Bingham Registration District.
  • In a November, 1883, re-organization, the parish was re-assigned to the Bingham sub-district of the Bingham Registration District.
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

The village and parish lies 1.2 miles east of the A46 trunk road in the Vale of Belvoir. The parish covers 1,380 acres.

The village is known for its Stilton Cheese. The Grantham Canal runs along the western edge of the village. If you are planning a visit:

  • Check for bus service from Nottingham as well as Grantham.
You can see pictures of Cropwell Bishop which are provided by:

Directories

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Cropwell Bishop has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK685355 (Lat/Lon: 52.912546, -0.982800), Cropwell Bishop which are provided by:

Military History

  • The War Memorial Hall (Village Hall) was opened in 1932 by the then Prince of Wales as a tribute to the men who fought in World War I.
  • We have a photograph taken inside the Memorial Hall that clearly shows a Roll of Honour on the wall. Alas, the names are not legible.
  • We know that there is a brass War Memorial Plaque in the parish because the Parish Council minutes mention paying to referbish it. Alas, they do not mention the location.

Military Records

Sergeant Frank STEEL born of this parish died on 27 October 1917 while a member of the Canadian Army Medical Corps.

Private John Albert HALL born of this parish died on 2 September 1918 while a member of the Manitoba Regiment.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in the county of Nottingham and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the southern division of the countyd.
  • In April, 1935, this parish gave up 36 acres transfered to Cropwell Butler Civil Parish.
  • You may contact the local Cropwell Bishop Parish Council regarding civic or politcal issues, but they are NOT staffed to help with family history lookups.
  • District governance is provided by the Rushcliffe Borough Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bingham petty session hearings held every other Thursday.
  • In 1779 William FILLINGHAM left a small charity to distribute bread to the poor on the first day of January each year.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, this parish became part of the Bingham Poor Law Union.

Population

Year Population
1801 307
1831 473
1851 640
1871 616
1881 636
1901 517