Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Edingley

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Edingley

"Edingley is a pleasant village and parish, three miles west-north-west of Southwell. Its parish comprises 381 inhabitants and 1,692 acres of land, which was enclosed in 1778, when allotments were made in lieu of tithes. It is in the liberty of Southwell and Scrooby. The archbishop is lord of the manor, and the chapter of Southwell are the appropriators and patrons of the perpetual curacy, which is valued in the King's books at £4, now at £80. A great part of the soil is copyhold or leasehold under them, and the rest belongs to a number of freeholders, the principal of whom are Mr Gunton, V.S. Burnell Esq., Mr John Hage, Mr Edward Cope, Mr George Pursey, Mr Samuel Ward, Mr John Alcock and the Rev. J.D. Beecher.
The church is an ancient structure, dedicated to St Giles. The chancel was rebuilt by Henry Machon Esq. of Gatefoed Hill, in 1844, when the church was thoroughly repaired at the expense of the parish. The Rev. James Francis Dimock is the incumbent. The Methodists have a chapel here, erected in 1838.
The Manor House is a very ancient building, situated near the church; it was formerly surrounded by a moat, and has a draw-bridge. The cotton mill, which has given employment to a great number of the villagers, was bought in 1837 by H. Machon, Esq., and taken down in 1842, previous to which it had been unoccupied several years. A feast is held on the Sunday after Old St Giles's Day. The school was endowed by John Lamb and Samuel Wright, in 1731, with a house and 5½ acres of land, to which 3a Ir. 22p. was added at the enclosure.
The poor have £14, 11s. yearly, arising from several benefactions."
[WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Census

  • The parish was in the Southwell sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 865
1861 R.G. 9 / 2470
1871 R.G. 10 / 3532
1891 R.G. 12 / 2707

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Edingley area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church was dedicated to Saint Giles.
     
  • The date of construction is not revealed, but is quoted in Directories as "of very early date". There is no mention of a church here in the Domesday Survey, but it appears to be an early 12th century structure. It appears to be of Norman origin.
     
  • The church chancel was rebuilt in 1844.
     
  • The church was largely rebuilt in 1890.
     
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St.Giles' Church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2012.
     
  • Grahm HOGG also has a photograph of St.Giles' Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2016.
     
  • James THORNTON has a photograph of the Church lych gate on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2007.
     
  • The church is part of the Southwell & Nottingham Church History Project.
     

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1581.
     
  • You can find an extract from the Parish Register , but it only covers 1638.
     
  • The London Family History Centre has film of the Bishop's Transcripts for 1623 through 1858.
     
  • The parish was in the rural deanery of Southwell.
     
  • The Wesleyan Methodists and Primitive Methodists each had a chapel here in 1813.
     
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2010.
     

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Southwell sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     

Description and Travel

Edingley is a village and a parish near the River Greet. It is 3.5 miles west of Southwell and 131.5 miles north of London. The parish covers 1,759 acres and includes the hamlets of Osmondthorpe and Greaves Lane.

If you are planning a visit:

  • The A1 motorway used to run through the village but a modern bypass now skirts the place.
     
  • Jim THORNTON has a photograph of the Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2007. You should drop by and ask for a schedule of forth-coming events.
     
  • Balderton Lake provides a place to relax and hosts a local fishing club.
     
  • Graham HOGG has a photograph of the Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2016.
     
You can see pictures of Edingley which are provided by:

Directories

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Edingley has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Edingley to another place.

History

  • Stop in at the Old Reindeer to chat up the locals.
     
  • Jim THORNTON has a photograph of the Old Reindeer on Geo-graph, taken in October 2006.
     
  • The Edingly Cricket Club existed in the 1920s. Harry VERVET asks if your have any relatives in the Edingley C. C..
     
  • Jo TURNER has a photograph of an Iron Age Hut like the one her ancestors lived in on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2010.
     

Military History

In St. Giles Church, to the right of the blocked-up doorway in the north wall of the nave is a memorial to John TODER, who died in June, 1944.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Nottingham and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • The parish was in the south division of the ancient Thurgaton Wapentake (Hundred) in the southern division of the county.
     
  • In March, 1884, this parish gave up 41 acres to enlarge Oxton Civil Parish.
     

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • The Common Land was enclosed here in 1778.
     
  • Bastardy cases would be herad in the Southwell petty session hearings every other Friday.
     
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Southwell Poor Law Union.
     

Population

 Year Population
1801 286
1841 429
1851 381
1861 390
1871 352
1881 297
1891 279
1901 250
1911 301

Schools

  • A Parochial School was built here before 1881.