We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Everton

"Everton Parish comprises the two townships of Everton and Scaftworth, the former of which contains about 3,521 acres, and the latter 1,049a3r 34p of land, of the rateable value of £5,500. The whole parish contains a population of 888 souls. The common land in Everton was enclosed in 1760, and in Scaftworth in 1773. The rectorial tithes of the new enclosures in Everton township were commuted for an allotment of 225a 2r 8p given to Lord Charles Cavendish who was then the impropriator. At the same time the vicarial tithes of the whole parish were redeemed by two allotments of 90 acres in Everton, and 15 acres in Scaftworth, besides ten acres of old glebe. The great tithes are still paid on all the old enclosures in the parish, and also on the new enclosures in Scaftworth. William Wells, Esq. of Stockwith, is now the impropriator. The charities belonging to the parish are £1 6s 8d to the poor of Everton, and 13s 4d to those of Scaftworth, paid out of Stonehills Farm; an annuity of 10s out of an estate belonging to J. Walker Esq., and 5s yearly left by Robert Ducklin in 1721, out of a house belonging to the vicar, for the poor of Everton; and £100, left in 1800 by Elizabeth Ella, who directed half of the interest to be given to poor married lying-in women, and the remainder to be paid for the education of poor girls of Everton, where a school has been built by subscription." [WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Gringley sub-district of the East Retford Registration District.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
CensusYear Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 849
1851 H.O. 107 / 2121
1861 R.G. 9 / 2412
1891 R.G. 12 / 2638

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Everton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity.
  • The church was constructed in the 12th century.
  • An Everton Church history tells more about the church's past.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of Holy Trinity Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2006.
  • Neil THEASBY has a photograph of the church interior on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2012.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1643.
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Retford.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here by 1869.
  • Gordon K. BROOKE has a photograph of the Methodist Chapel on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2006.
  • There is a book titled "Everton Methodism past and present", by Berry J. BIGGS, 1976, publ. Eaton Hall College (History Dept.), paperback, ISBN: 090-134305-6.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Gringley sub-district of the East Retford Registration District.
  • Civil Registration started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Everton is a parish containing two townships. The two townships are: Everton-with-Harwell and Scartworth. The parish is 7 mils north of East Retford. The parish covers 3,819 acres, is bounded on the east by the Chesterfield Canal and includes the hamlet of Harwell.

Scaftworth township was 2 miles north-west of Everton village. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, the village is on the A631 trunk road, heading east out of Bawtry.
  • Jonathan THACKER has a photograph of the Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2010. You should stop by and get a schedule of current events.
You can see pictures of Everton which are provided by:

Directories

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Everton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • Scaftworth is believed to be an old Roman station on the road between Doncaster and Littleborough.
  • In the 1800s bricks were made here.
  • In the 1800s gravel was mined here.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK691914 (Lat/Lon: 53.414879, -0.961824), Everton which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Nottingham county, and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the North Clay division of the ancient Bassetlaw Wapentake (Hundred) in the northern division of the county.
  • The parish was also a part of the Southwell and Scrooby Liberty.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard at the Retford petty session hearings held in West Retford.
  • The Common Land was enclosed in Everton township in 1760.
  • The Common Land was enclosed in Scartworth township in 1773.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became a part of the East Retford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year Everton Scaftworth
1801 468 112
1851 774 114
1871 677 99
1881 654
1891 637
1901 640 116

Schools

  • There was a National School here by 1869.