Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Hockerton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Hockerton

"Hockerton is a small village, two miles north by east of Southwell, and contains 106 inhabitants and 1,045 acres of land. It was owned by Johannes de Walor in 1183, and afterwards passed by the families of Botiler and Criche, and is now the property of Major General Whetham, who succeeded to the estate of the late Admiral Southeron in 1839. He is the entire owner of the land and lord of the manor, and also patron of the rectory, which is valued in the King's books at £9 9s 4½d, now at £244. The Rev. John P. Mills is the incumbent, who resides at the rectory house, a newly erected building adjoining the church. The rector has 50 acres of ancient glebe, and receives £192 in lieu of tithes.
The church is a small structure, with a tower and three bells, and is dedicated to St Nicholas. It was repewed in 1843. A neat school was built in 1843 by Major General Whetham, who also supports the teacher. Hockerton Moor is a farm house, on an elevated situation, nearly a mile and a half west of the village."
[WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Census

  • The parish was in the Southwell sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 866
1861 R.G. 9 / 2472
1871 R.G. 10 / 3533
1891 R.G. 12 / 2708

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hockerton area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

  • A church is mentioned here in the 1058 Domesday Book.
     
  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Nicholas.
     
  • The construction date is uncertain, but was prior to 1582. The building is definitely Norman.
     
  • In the mid-17th century the building was damaged during the Civil Wars between King Charles I and Parliament.
     
  • In 1868 part of the chancel was rebuilt and the roof restored and a new porch added.
     
  • Plans were underway in 2016 to close the church and combine the parish with Kirklington (to the west).
     
  • Christine HASMAN has a photograph of St. Nicholas Church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2004.
     
  • Richard CROFT also has a photograph of St. Nicholas Church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2012.
     

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1582 and are in good condition.
     
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Southwell.
     

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Southwell sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     

Description and Travel

Hockerton is a small village and a parish on the high road from Mansfield to Newark (the A617). It is 6 miles north-west of Newark and 11 miles south-east of Mansfield. The parish covers about 1,350 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A617 west out of Newark. This road passes through Hockerton.
     
  • For bus service, try the Carberry Bus Service.
     
  • David DISON has a photograph of the partially obscured Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2014. You artistic and clever talents are needed to create a new sign for Hockerton.
     
You can see pictures of Hockerton which are provided by:

Directories

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Hockerton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hockerton to another place.

History

  • John FIRTH has a photograph of the Spread Eagle pub. on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2013. A good location for taking in local gossip and conversation.
     

Manors

  • Hockerton Manor is on Hockerton road just southeast of the village.
     
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of Hockerton Manor Farm on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2013.
     

Military History

There is no War Memorial in the parish, except that the window recalls the death in service of Duncan SMITH in 1917, and his gravestone stands in the churchyard.

There is a private memorial in the form of a stained glass window dedicated to John Philip SMITH, rector, and his son Duncan who died in the Great War.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Hockerton is Old English hocer+ton, or "farmstead at the hump or rounded hill". In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village is given as Hocretone.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].
     

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish of Nottingham county and became a Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • The parish is in the ancient Thurgarton Wapentake in the southern division of the county.
     
  • The citizens of this parish have elected to forego a formal Parish Council and they have periodic Parish Meetings to discuss divic and political issues.
     

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Southwell petty session hearings.
     
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Southwell Poor Law Union.
     

Population

 Year Inhabitants
1801 100
1831 108
1851 114
1861 108
1871 110
1881 101
1891 68
1901 79
1911 66
1921 72
1931 70

Schools

  • A School was built here in 1843 by Major-General WHETHAM. This was originally only a Sunday school.
     
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the Datestone on Hockerton school on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2013.