We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Kingston on Soar

"Kingston-Upon-Soar is a small village and parish 10 miles south west by south of Nottingham, betwixt the Wolds and the Leicestershire border. It has only 194 inhabitants, and 1,300 acres of land, all belonging to the Right Hon. Edward Strutt M.P., lord of the manor, who has erected at an immense cost, a spendid stone mansion in the Elizabethan style. It is situated on a commanding eminence, and has extensive and beautiful prospects of the surrounding country. In 1848, a new school was erected, and is supported by the Right Hon. gentleman, who has also added a handsome clock to the church, and much improved the appearance of the village by the erection of several cottages in the Elizabethan style. The church, dedicated to St Winifred, was rebuilt in 1832, except the south transcept, which is very ancient, and contains a richly scultured monument of the Babyngtons, who had a large mansion here till the reign of Elizabeth, when Anthony Babyngton was attained and executed for favouring the cause of Mary Queen of Scots. The Right Hon. Edward Strutt M.P. is patron of the curacy, which is now enjoyed by the Rev. Hames Fyler. Here is a station on the Midland Counties Railway. The earliest register begins in 1657, and in the first five years we find 21 baptisms and 18 burials. The poor have the interest of £10 left by Gervase Redfern. The feast is on the first Sunday after St Luke's Day." [WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]



  • The parish was in the Castle Donington sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
CensusYear Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2488
1891 R.G. 12 / 2719


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kingston on Soar area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Winifred.
  • The church was built in 1540 to replace a chapel of ease.
  • The church tower and spire were built in 1832.
  • The church was restored in 1900.
  • The church is a Grade 1 listed Historical Building.
  • There is a Photograph of St. Winifred's Church on Flickr.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1657 and are in good condition.
  • Phillimore and Co. have published the extract from the parish register of marriages, 1755-1811.
  • The parish was in the deanery #3 of Bingham (later: West Bingham).

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Castle Donington sub-district of the Shardlow Registration District.
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Kingston-on-Soar is a village and a parish only 9 miles south-east of Derby, 10 miles south-west of Nottingham city and 120 miles north of the city of London. The parish covers 1,200 acres. There are four centres of population within the parish: the village, Kinston Hall, New Kingston and Kingston Fields.

The village is on the east bank of the River Soar. Across the river is Leicestershire. If you are planning a visit:

  • Exit the M1 motorway at intersection #24.
  • I know that rail service runs by the west side of the village, but I do not know if the trains stop at Kingston. They used to stop at a station called Kegworth that was in this parish. I do know that the East Midlands Parkway opened up in 2008 at Ratcliffe on Soar, which will get you close.
You can see pictures of Kingston on Soar which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Kingston on Soar has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • The village holds a feast on the first Sunday after St. Luke's Day.
  • The railway came to this parish in 1837-40. The station was named Kegworth because there are so many Kingstons in England. At one time, over 300 trains of all kinds ran through the pairsh on a daily basis.


  • Kingston Hall is a relatively modern red brick building, built in 1844-45. In 1881 it was the seat of Lord BELPER (Edward STRUTT), the lord of the manor and sole landowner of the parish.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK501276 (Lat/Lon: 52.843562, -1.257608), Kingston on Soar which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • The parish was in the southern division of the ancient Rushcliffe Wapentake (Hundred) in the southern division of the county.
  • The parish is currently in the Rushcliffe borough of Nottingham.
  • You can contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOTstaffed to answer family history questions.
  • District governance is provided by the Rushcliffe Borough Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Shardlow Poorlaw Union.


Year Population
1801 152
1831 175
1851 196
1861 197
1871 210
1881 196
1891 281
1901 271
1911 265


  • A National School was built here before 1869. It was called Lady Belper's School.