We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Lambley

"Lambley parish, seven miles north-east of Nottingham, has a large irregularly built village, situated at the head of a steep valley, sheltered by an amphitheatre of hills. The parish has 951 inhabitants and 2,170 acres of fertile land, the rateable value of which is £2,673 8s. About 600 acres of land were enclosed in 1793, previous to which other enclosures had taken place. Lambley House is a handsome mansion, delightfully situated on a gentle and well-wooded eminence, one mile north-west of the village, and is the seat and property of Samuel Matthews Esq., who purchased this estate with the manorial rights in 1843, from Lewin Chomley Esq. The other principal owners are Earl Manvers, Mr William Taylor, Mr John Godber and others, besides an estae belonging to a hospital in Nottingham. Many of the inhabitants find employment in the hosiery trade, there being upwards of 400 frames in the village. The church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, is a small ancient structure with a low tower. The rectory is valued in the King's books at £10 16s 3d, and has 90a 2r 11p of glebe. The tithes were commuted in 1843 for £580. The Rev. H.E.C. Cobden M.A. is the incumbent, and the eldest son of the late Rev. A.D. Flamstead is the patron." [WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Arnold sub-district of the Basford Registration District.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
CensusYear Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 866
1851 H.O. 107 / 2128
1861 R.G. 9 / 2444
1891 R.G. 12 / 2677

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lambley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity.
  • The church was originally built in the 11th century, and rebuilt in 1470.
  • David HALLAM-JONES has a photograph of Holy Trinity Church on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2013.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1560, but have a gap for 1640-1754.
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Nottingham.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here before 1869.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Arnold sub-district of the Basford Registration District.
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Lambley is 138 miles norh of London, only 6 miles north-east from the City of Nottingham and only 2 miles from Arnold Town. The isolation of the village is mainly due to its location which is in the bottom of a steep hill in a natural basin, which is horse shoe in shape. The parish covers 2,170 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Lambley which are provided by:

Directories

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Lambley has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Lambley to another place.

History

  • In the 1800s many of the inhabitants of Lambley were frame-work knitters.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK632453 (Lat/Lon: 53.001279, -1.059694), Lambley which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • The parish was in the southern division of the ancient Thurgarton Hundred in the Southern division of the county.
  • You may contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or politcal issues, but they are NOT staffed to help with family history lookups.
  • District governance is provided by the Gedling Borough Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Nottingham petty session hearings.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became a part of the Basford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year Inhabitants
1801 467
1851 951
1861 836
1881 803
1901 770

Schools

  • A National School for both sexes was built here before 1881 to hold 145 children.