We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Lenton

"Lenton Parish takes its name from its situation upon the Len or Leen, and lies in the vale of that river, near its confluence with the Trent, on the west side of the park and meadows of Nottingham, betwixt them and the parishes of Beeston, Wollaton and Radford, except its detached member called Bestwood Park, which is distant 5 miles north from any other part of the parish. Lenton contains 2,610 acres of rich sandy land, rated at the county rate to £6,957. Gregory Gregory Esq. of Harlaxton Hall is the principal owner and lord of the manor, but Jno. Wright Esq., Lord Middleton and Henry Smith Esq. have estates here. 112 acres of the beautiful park belonging to Lord Middleton is in this parish, within which stands the handsome park gate on the Derby Road. Lenton has, however, felt the manufacturing impulse of its neighbouring town, Nottingham, having increased its population five times over during the last fifty years; for we find that in 1801 it amounted to only 893 souls, which in 1851 had swelled to 5,590 living in 1,069 houses, which includes the new villages of New Lenton and Hyson Green, which latter is principally in Radford Parish, being situated on the common land, 154 acres, which was enclosed in 1796, and divided betwixt the two parishes, though that portion alloted to Lenton is completely surrounded by the land and buildings of Radford. Lenton is a large, handsome village, 1½ miles west of Nottingham, consisting principally of beautiful villas with gardens and shrubberies, and neat cottages. Two annual fairs, granted by Henry I and Charles II, are held here on the Wednesday in Whit-week, and on November 11th, for horses, horned cattle and hogs." [WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Lenton sub-district of the Radford Registration District.
  • In June, 1880, this parish was reassigned to the Nottingham South West sub-district of the Nottingham Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
CensusYear Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 858
1851 H.O. 107 / 2129 & 2130
1861 R.G. 9 / 2447
1891 R.G. 12 / 2681 & 2682
1901 R.G. 13 / 3164

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lenton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • A Cluniac priory was established here in 1105.
  • An old church, standing on the site of St. Anthony's Hospital in the Priory courtyard, was taken down in 1844.
  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to the Holy and Undivided Trinity.
  • The church was consecrated in october, 1842.
  • The church was restored in 1879 and again in 1894.
  • The church seats 660.
  • There is a photograph of Holy Trinity Church on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2008.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of Holy Trinity Church on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2010.
  • The church has a website, but there was no history information at last check.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1540 and is in good conditions.
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Southwell.
  • The Nottinghamshire Archives holds the registers for Lenton Holy Trinity; cmb for the period 1598 - 1900 on microfilm.
  • In 2005 thieves stole the current parish registers from the church.
  • The General Baptist chapel in Church Street was built in 1857.
  • The Wesleyan Methodist chapel in Church Street was built in 1882 in the Gothic style.
  • The Primitive Methodist chapel in Abbey Street was built in 1882 in the Pointed style.
  • There is a Polish Roman Catholic Church in Sherwood Rise.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Sikh Temple on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2010.

Civil Registration

  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
  • The parish was in the Lenton sub-district of the Radford Registration District.
  • In June, 1880, this parish was reassigned to the Nottingham South West sub-district of the Nottingham Registration District.

Description and Travel

This parish and small town lies on the banks of the River Leen, 1.5 miles south-west of Nottingham. The parish covers just over 5,075 acres.

You can learn more about Lenton by reading the Lenton Times magazine.

You can see pictures of Lenton which are provided by:

Directories

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Lenton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Lenton to another place.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK555395 (Lat/Lon: 52.949998, -1.175413), Lenton which are provided by:

Military History

  • The Nottingham and Notts Crimean and Indian Mutiny Veteran's Association operated here. Their task was to obtain pensions and increase of pensions for those entitled. They had their own burial ground here.
  • 63 men from Lenton served in the South African Campaign (Boer War), of whom 7 died. They are memorialized in the parish church.
  • There is a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2008.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the War Memorial plaque on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2010.
  • And Andrew ABBOTT has a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2010.

Military Records

There are 13 Commonwealth War Graves in Holy Trinity's churchyard. We show them separated by WWI and WWII:

  1. Fred BONNETT, gunner, Royal Gar. Artillery, age 25, died 1 Nov. 1918.
  2. Oliver BURTON, shoeing smith, South Notts Hussars, age 24, died 15 Nov. 1914.
  3. Mrs. Alice Mary FLANNERY, section leader, Women's Roayl naval Service, age 37, died 9 Sept. 1918.
  4. Clarence Everard JOHNSON, 2nd liet., RAF, age 19, died 22 May 1918.
  5. Jack LANE, priv., Northumberland Fusiliers, age 39, died 12 Nov. 1917.
  6. Walter MOTTISHAW, rifleman, KRRC, age 23, died 3 Jan. 1916.
  7. Cecil STOKES, priv., Leic. Regt., age 19, died 21 Dec. 1918.
  8. Reginald THOMPSON, rifleman, KRRC, age 27, died 11 June 1916.
  9. John Heath WALL, gunner, Royal Gar. Artillery, age 27, died 19 Feb. 1919.
  10. John Harold WALTERS, rifleman, London Regt., age 22, died 7 Nov. 1916.
  11. Albert Issac WILSHAM, sapper, Royal Engineers, age 36, died 27 Oct. 1918.
  1. Douglas Arthur ATTEWELL, pilot officer, RAF Vol. Rsrv., age 23, died 18 June 1941.
  2. Archibald SMITH, srgt., RAF Vol. Rsrv., age 20, died 8 Feb. 1942.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Nottingham county and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • This parish was in the Broxtowe Hundred or Wapentake.
  • The parish was incorporated into Nottingham city in 1877.
  • There is no parish council. Since 1877, Nottingham City Council has been the administrative unit.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Nottingham petty session hearings.
  • The LAMBLEY Almshouses in Woodborough road were built in 1897 to replace the old almshouses that were built in the Derby road back in 1814.
  • The PLUMPTRE Hospital in Plumptre square was founded in 1392 by John de PLUMTRE to house 13 poor widows. The Hospital was rebuilt in 1823. It also served 40 out-pensioners in 1912. The Hospital closed circa 1985, but continues to function as a charity for out-pensioners.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, this parish became a part of the Radford Poor Law Union.
  • In June of 1880, this parish was reassigned to the Nottingham Poor Law Union.
  • ROBINSON's Almshouses in Mansfield Road and Percival Road were built in 1889 and consisted of 12 houses for aged people over 70.
  • The NORRIS Homes in Berridge road were erected in 1893 are are for eight ladies of limited income.

Population

Year Inhabitants
1801 893
1821 1,240
1841 4,467
1851 5,589
1901 23,872