Mansfield
As described in 1887:
Mansfield, market town and par., Notts, on river Maun, 16 miles N. of Nottingham and 137 miles NW. of London by rail, 7252 ac., pop. 13,653; 3 Banks, 2 newspapers. Market-day, Thursday, From coins and other relics found here, Mansfield is supposed to have been a Roman station. It is surrounded by the vestiges of Sherwood Forest. Silk and cotton mills, iron foundries, engine works, brick and tile works, and breweries, %amp;etc., give employment to the inhabitants. The cattle markets and corn markets are important.
[John Bartholomew's "Gazetteer of the British Isles ," 1887]
- The parish was in the Mansfield sub-district of the Mansfield Registration District.
- There was a census of Mansfield in 1831. To the web page author's knowledge this will only list the head of household and a table of others by sex and age brackets. Other household members are not listed by name.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2428 & 2429 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3471 thru 3473 |
| 1881 |
R.G. 11 / 3317 |
| 1891 |
R.G. 12 / 2654 & 2655 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Peter.
- The church is of early Norman origin.
- The church seats 400.
- Saint John's Church was built in 1859.
- St. John's Church seats 1000.
- Peter KOCHUT has a photograph of St. John's Church on Geo-graph, taken in 2003.
- The Anglican parish registers exist from 1560.
- The International Genealogical Index (IGI) includes records from this parish for the period 1813-1837.
- The church was in the Mansfield deanery.
- The Unitarian Chapel was built in 1702 and expanded in 1870.
- Anthony DIXON has a photograph of The Old Meeting House on Geo-graph, taken in 2012.
- The parish was in the Mansfield sub-district of the Mansfield Registration District.
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
Mansfield is a parish and former Market Town situated on the River Maun only 16 miles north of Nottingham city and 137 miles north of London. The town is surrounded by vestiges of Sherwood Forest. The parish includes the hamlets of Dalestorth, Radmanthwaite and Moorhaigh.
If you are planning a visit:
- David BEVIS has a photograph of the Market Square on Geo-graph, taken in 2009.
- The railways still provide passenger service on the "Robin Hood Line" between Nottingham and Worksop.
- The national grid reference is SK 5361.
- You'll want an Ordinance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- In 1883, Mansfield was the headquarters of the 4th Nottinghamshire Rifle Volunteers. The unit had 60 members under the command of Captain BRANSTON.
- See a photograph of the War Memorial on Flickr, taken in 2009.
- This place was an ancient parish in Nottingham county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- This parish was in the Broxtowe Hundred or Wapentake.
- On 1 April, 1935, this parish was reduced by 60 acres to enlarge Sutton in Ashfield Civil Parish.
- After the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, this parish became the center of the Mansfield Poor Law Union.
- Bastardy cases would be heard in the Mansfield perry session hearings.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1871 |
11,824 |
| 1881 |
13,653 |
| 1891 |
15,925 |
| 1901 |
21,445 |
| 1911 |
36,888 |
Find help, report problems, or contribute information
[Last updated: 18-February-2013 - Louis R. Mills]