Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Mansfield Woodhouse

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Mansfield Woodhouse

"Mansfield Woodhouse is a respectable village and parish, nearly one and a half miles north of Mansfield. It is partly inhabited by framework knitters, but contains some good houses which have long been the residence of respectable families. The parish contains 1,972 inhabitants and 4,770 acres of land. The tithes were commuted in 1814 for £680. The Duke of Portland is principal owner, lord of the manor, and impropriator, but Francis Hall Esq., Edmund Sykes Esq., John Clark Esq and Edward Thomas Coke Esq have also estates here. In the reign of Henry VI, Sir Robert Plumpton died possessed of one bovate in this manor called Wolf-hunt land, held by the service of winding a horn and frightening the wolves in Sherwood Forest. The dwelling upon this land was called Wolf House, which is now occupied by Mr Samuel Housley. br /> In an ancient record, written in 1520, it is said 'that the town of Mansfield Woodhouse was burned in the year of our Lord MCCCIIII and the Kirk stepull, with the bells of the same, for the stepull was afore of tymbre work.' Before this accident the church had three aisles, but it now has only two. It is 98 feet long and 32 broad. The spire is 108 feet high and contains four bells, and a small Saints' bell, which in Catholic times was rung when the priest came to that part of the Latin service which is translated, 'Holy! Holy! Holy! Lord God of Sabaoth!' in order that those who stayed at home might join with the congregation in the most solemn part of worship."
[WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Cemeteries

St Edmund's has an overflow graveyard on Welbeck Road.

Ian S. has a photograph of a portion of the Overflow Cemetery on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2016.

Census

  • The parish was in the Warsop sub-district of the Mansfield Registration District.
     
  • There are Census Extracts available on the Woodhus site.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 859
1851 H.O. 107 / 2123
1861 R.G. 9 / 2423
1871 R.G. 10 / 3645
1891 R.G. 12 / 2648

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church was dedicated to Saint Edmund King and Martyr.
     
  • There may have been a wooden church here before the 1086 Domesday book, but a part timber, part stone church was raised here in 1190.
     
  • The church nave and aisles were rebuilt between 1804 and 1810.
     
  • The church chancel was restored in 1878. Most of the rest of the church had been repaired in 1850.
     
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Edmund's Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2006.
     
  • James HILL also has a photograph of St. Edmund's Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2007.
     
  • St. Chad at Steffenwood was erected in Pleasley Vale in 1881. It could seat 120 people.
     
  • St. Alban's Mission Church was erected in Forest Town in 1911. It could seat 400 people.
     

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers dates from 1653 and is in fair condition.
     
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Mansfield.
     
  • The Congregationalists built a chapel here in 1802.
     
  • The Baptists built a chapel here in 1874.
     
  • There were also chapels here for the Primitive Methodists and Wesleyan Methodists in 1881.
     
  • A new Baptist chapel was built here in 1905.
     

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Warsop sub-district of the Mansfield Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     

Description and Travel

This large village and parish lies on the western border of the old Sherwood Forest, one and a half miles north of Mansfield and 135 miles north of London. The parish covers 4,820 acres. Pleasley Vale is a hamlet in this parish.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By rail, the village is served by the Robin Hood Line between Nottingham and Worksop.
     

You can see pictures of Mansfield Woodhouse which are provided by:

Directories

Gazetteers

":MANSFIELD-WOODHOUSE, a village and a parish in Mansfield district, Notts. The village stands ¾ of a mile W of the river Maun, and 1½ N of Mansfield r. station; was burnt in 1034; is a large place, with some old houses; and has a post office under Mansfield, and a fair on the third Wednesday of Oct. The parish includes part of Sherwood forest, and comprises 2,860 acres. Real property, £8,314; of which £48 are in quarries Pop. in 1851, 1,972; in 1861 ,2,263. Houses, 492. The property is divided among a few. The manor and much of the land belong to the Duke of Portland. The Priory is the seat of G. Robinson, Esq., and Debdale is the seat of E. T. Coke, Esq. A number of the inhabitants are employed in frame-work knitting. A small ditched-ditched Roman camp is at Winny-Hill; and many Roman coins, pavements, urns, and other Roman relics have been found. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Lincoln. Value, £300. Patron, the Bishop of Lincoln. The church is early English, in good condition; and has an octagonal spire, 104 feet high. There are chapels for Independents, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists, national and infant schools, two endowed schools, a recently established village hospital, and some small charities."

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Mansfield Woodhouse has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Mansfield Woodhouse to another place.

History

  • Roman remains have been discovered here at different periods. There is a site just over a mile north-east of the church that appears to have been a Roman Camp.
     
  • On 12 September 1304, fire completely destroyed the village, including the church. The town was rebuilt and the church was rebuilt using stone.
     
  • The Village Feast was held on the Sunday following July 10th.
     
  • David BEVIS has a photograph of the Greyhound Pub on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2011.
     
  • See also Our Mansfield for additional history.
     

Medical Records

  • The Mansfield and Mansfield Woodhouse District Hospital was started in this parish in 1867, but construction didn't take place until 1877.
     
  • This small hospital was replaced in 1889 and a new one opened the following year on West Hill Drive.
     
  • Miss Florence RANSFORD was the matron in 1904.
     
  • Mansfield General Hospital closed in 1992.
     
  • Hospitals were exempt from archiving laws relating to patient records.
     

Military History

  • The First World War memorial is in the Yeoman Hill Park across the street from the church. It has five plaques on it.
     
  • Ian S. has a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2016.
     
  • The Second World War memorial is a wooden plaque inside the church.
     
  • There is a memorial to Mark Royston STEPHENS lost in the Falklands Campaign just below the wooden plaque mentioned above.
     
  • All those memorials are described and photographs provided at the Southwell Churches History Project site. The names are particularly difficult to read, so if you happen to have a list, please let me know.
     
  • One of the names listed is: Leonard BOCKIN (or BOCKING). 9th Sherwood Foresters.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient Chapelry in a parish in Nottingham county, and became a modern Civil Parish around 1800.
     
  • This parish was in the northern division of the Broxtowe Hundred or Wapentake in the northern division of the county.
     
  • Under the 1894 Local Government Act the parish formed an Urban District Council.
     

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Mansfield petty session hearings.
     
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, this parish became part of the Mansfield Poor Law Union.
     

Population

 Year Population
1801 1,112
1821 1,598
1841 1,871
1851 1,972
1871 2,474
1881 2,618
1891 2,819

Schools

  • David BEVIS has a photograph of the National School in Welbeck Road on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2011.