Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Misterton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Misterton

"Misterton Parish is situated at the north-east angle of the county, where the River Idle and the Chesterfield Canal terminate in the Trent. It contains 1,743 inhabitants and 4,746 acres of land, of which about 636 acres are in West Stockwith township, and 654 inhabitants, which maintains its poor separately from misterton. A great part of it was formerly a swampy bog, but it is now drained and improved. In the higher parts of the parish are found both foliated and fibrous gypsum or plaster, used both for floors and ornamental work.
Misterton is a large village on the north side of the Chesterfield Canal, where there are several wharfs, within one mile of the Trent, five miles north-north-west of Gainsborough, and nine miles east of Bawtry. Its township, in which there are the farms of Cornley, Fountain Hill, Grovewood and Haxey Gate (a public house) contains about 1,100 inhabitants and 4,109a 3r of land, at the rateable value of £4,745 6s.
The church is a large ancient structure dedicated to All Saints, with a nave, chancel and side aisles."
[WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Archives and Libraries

The Misterton Community Partnership Library should be able to help you with local research. Note that they are only open four days per week normally.

Cemeteries

  • A Cemetery of 1/2 acre was opened in 1870 next to the churchyard and was placed under the management of the Misterton Council Burial Board. It was enlarged in 1895.

Census

  • The parish was in the Misterton sub-district in the Gainsborough Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 851
1861 R.G. 9 / 2407
1871 R.G. 10 / 3443
1891 R.G. 12 / 2633

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Misterton area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

  • A church is mentioned here in the 1086 Domesday Book.
     
  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
     
  • The church was probably constructed in the 13th century.
     
  • The church was partly rebuilt in 1848.
     
  • The church seats 350.
     
  • Alison STAMP has a photograph of All Saints on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2005.
     
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the church chancel on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2009.
     

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1540 and are in good condition.
     
  • We have a list of Vicars, Rectors and Curates for 1200 - 1950 which you might find useful.
     
  • The parish was in the rural deanery of Retford.
     
  • The church is currently in the Bassetlaw and Bawtry Deanery.
     
  • Both the Wesleyan Methodists and the Primitive Methodists had chapels here in 1912.
     
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the Methodist Chapel on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2011.
     
  • Tim HEATON also has a photograph of the Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2015.
     

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Misterton sub-district in the Gainsborough Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     

Description and Travel

Misterton is a village, a township and a parish on the Chesterfield Canal in Nottinghamshire, on the border with Lincolnshire. The parish is 5 miles north-west of Gainsborough (Lincolnshire), 12 miles north-east of Retford and 150 miles north of the city of London. The River Idle skirts the parish. The parish also contains the township of West Stockwith.

Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Chesterfield Canal on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2009.

You can see pictures of Misterton which are provided by:

Directories

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Misterton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Misterton to another place.

History

  • In the 1800s, bricks were made here.
     
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the Victoria Institute on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2011.
     

Military History

  • The Misterton War Memorial on High Street near the church contains the names of 22 people missing or died in World War I and 6 from World War II. It was erected in 1922.
     
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the War Memorial at Church Meadow on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2011.
     
  • Ian S. has a close-up view of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2012.
     
  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the War Memorial window in the Church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2011.
     

Military Records

The 19 names listed on the Great War Memorial in the Methodist Chapel are:

  1. Tom BROWN
  2. Ralph COOPER
  3. William Watt FARRAR
  4. Henry FREEBURY
  5. John Royal FRITCHLEY
  6. Walter Henry GRANTHAM
  7. William HACKETT
  8. Louis Gordon HASTINGS
  9. John William HUMBERSTONE
  10. Catherine (Kitty) Hannah JOLLANDS
  1. Fred KITCHING
  2. Albert MASON
  3. Joseph Richard ROBERTS
  4. Albert ROBINSON
  5. Edward ROBINSON
  6. Edward SEWARD
  7. Fred SPENCER
  8. Edgar Handley TEBBUTT
  9. Eric TEBBUTT

The 23 names listed on the Village Cross at the edge of All Saints' churchyard are:

  1. Tom BROWN
  2. Arthur CHARMAN
  3. Ralph COOPER
  4. William DRAPER
  5. William Watt FARRAR
  6. Henry FREEBURY
  7. John Royal FRITCHLEY
  8. Walter Henry GRANTHAM
  9. William HACKETT
  10. Louis Gordon HASTINGS
  11. John HEAD
  12. John William HUMBERSTONE
  1. Catherine (Kitty) Hannah JOLLANDS
  2. Fred KITCHING
  3. Albert MASON
  4. Robert Joseph Clark PETTINGER
  5. Joseph Richard ROBERTS
  6. Albert ROBINSON
  7. Edward ROBINSON
  8. Edward SEWARD
  9. Fred SPENCER
  10. Edgar Handley TEBBUTT
  11. Eric TEBBUTT

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Nottingham and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • The parish was in the North Clay division of the Bassetlaw Wapentake (or Hundred) in the northern division of the county.
     
  • West Stockwith township was created as a separate Civil Parish in December, 1866.
     
  • You may contact the Misterton Parish Council regarding civic or political matters, but they are staffed to do family history lookups for you.
     
  • District governance is provided by the Bassetlaw District Council.
     

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard at the Retford petty session hearings held in West Retford.
     
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, the parish became part of the Gainsborough Poor Law Union.
     

Population

 Year Misterton West Stockwith
1801 612 530
1851 1,089 654
1871 1,132 608
1901 1,433 667

Schools

  • A School Board was formed here in 1871.
     
  • A Board School was built in 1871.