We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Perlethorpe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.



  • The parish was in the Kneesal sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1871 R.G. 10 / 3535
1891 R.G. 12 / 2709


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Perlethorpe area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint John the Evangelist.
  • There had been an earlier church on the site. In 1744, the foundation stone from a previous church building was laid by Prince Evelyn, Duke of Kingston, commemorating its rebuilding. This church in turn was taken down in 1879.
  • The current church was built in 1876 and became the parish church in 1877..
  • The new church was poorly constructed and repairs had to made as early as 1904.
  • The lychgate was added in 1922.
  • Subsidence from coal mining has damaged the church tower in the 1950s, causing 5 of the bells to be removed.
  • Alan HEARDMAN has a photograph of St. John's Church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2008.
  • Graham HOGG also has a photograph of St. John's Church at Geo-graph, taken in November, 2015.
  • You might enjoy this photo-montage of Perlethorpe Church.
  • In 1850, a small chapel of ease was built in the village of Gunthorpe.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from the reign of Queen Elizabeth I (1528).
  • Perlethorpe has the oldest parish registers in England.
  • The International Genealogical Index (IGI) includes records from this parish for the period 1530-1866.
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Worksop.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Kneesal sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Perlethorpe is a small village, a township and a parish near the Dover Beck on the River Meden. The parish is 3 miles north-west of Ollerton, 8 miles south-east of Worksop. The parish covers about 1,768 acres and contains the hamlet of Thoresby.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A612 arterial road out of Nottingham. This road runs right through the village of Lowdham.
  • Check the Carlberry site for Bus service.
  • There is still a railway station at Lowdham, but the webpage author is unsure if passenger service is still available.
  • Chris ? has a photograph of a Lake on the River Meden on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2016.

You can see pictures of Perlethorpe which are provided by:


Ask for a calculation of the distance from Perlethorpe to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Perlethorpe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Military History

  • The churchyard Lych Gate is a War Memorial for World War I and was built in 1921.
  • Alan HEARDMAN has a photograph of St. John's Lych Gate on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2008.
  • Stephen McKAY also has a photograph of St. John's Lych gate at Geo-graph, taken in May, 2014.
  • An Ionian War Memorial cross for World War I was erected in the nearby hamlet of Budby as well.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Budby War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2007.
  • Richard CROFT also has a close-up of the Budby War Memorial plaques on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2007.
  • A framed Roll of Honour is in the parish church, but it is dated October, 1914, so it is likely not a complete list of all parishioners who served. 14 names are listed.

Military Records

For transcriptions of the plaques and the names on them, see the Southwell Church History Project site.

These are the names listed on the War MemoriaI plaque for World War One:

  1. Sydney BROWN
  2. Basil St. Merryn CARDEW
  3. Christopher GOODBAND
  4. C. H. BARKER
  5. Ernest JACKSON
  6. Edward Lancelot KING
  7. Arthur William MAIDEN
  9. James PARKIN
  10. Alfred RAWLINGS
  11. Reginald Henry RUSSELL
  12. William TARR

C. H. BARKER is "missing" from the Nottinghamshire County war memorial list. And G. MILLIN is an unknown person. If you have information on these two, please contact the site maintainer.

Names, Geographical

The "Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project tell us:

"Perlethorpe, a development of Peureltorp, as noted in the 1159 Pipe Commission Rolls, and later in 1167 as Peuerelestorp in the Chancellor’s copy of the same rolls."

Politics and Government

  • The parish was in the Hatfield division of the ancient Bassetlaw Wapentake (Hundred) in the northern division of the county.
  • In 1836 the Earl Manvers obtained an Act of Parliament to make Perlethorpe a chapelry in the parish of Edwinstowe.
  • This place became a modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.
  • In October, 1899, this Civil Parish was abolished and replaced by a new entity: Perlethorpe cum Budby Civil Parish.
  • The citizens of this parish have elected not to have a formal parish council. They hold periodic Parish Meetings to discuss civil and political issues.
  • Alan HEARDMAN has a photograph of Perlethorpe Village Hall at Geo-graph, taken in March, 2008. Stop in when it is open and ask for a copy of the schedule of forth-=coming events.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard at the Retford petty session hearings held in West Retford.
  • Almshouses were built near the church around 1890.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Southwell Poor Law Union.


 Year Population
1881 132
1891 139


  • A Village School was built here in 1861 to hold 45 students.
  • This school, along with that of Budby, was incorporated as a Public Elementary School in 1880. This school has since been closed and the buildings used for other purposes.