We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

South Muskham

"South Muskham is a village and parish on the North Road, near to the clumsy and wooden bridge which crosses the broad stream of the Trent, 2 miles north-west of Newark. It contains 282 inhabitants and 2,612a 2r 39p of land, Lord Middleton is the owner, except about 20 acres in small freeholds, and lessee under the prebendary and chapter. The Marshalls formerly had a seat here, but sold their inheritance to Sir William Willoughby Bart. The Great North Railway passes through the parish. The church, dedicated to St Wilfred, is a vicarage valued in the King's books at £4, now £65, and is in the patronage of its own prebendary in Southwell Collegiate Church, who is also appropriator, and at the enclosure had 140 acres and 37 perches of land awarded for the large tithe. The Rev. John Drake Beecher M.A. is the incumbent, and has 3a 1r 2p of glebe. The church is an ancient structure with nave, chancel, side aisles and tower, with three bells." [WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Southwell sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
CensusYear Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2472
1891 R.G. 12 / 2708

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the South Muskham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Wilfred (Wilfrid).
  • The church was constructed in the 13th century.
  • The church was restored and re-roofed during the years 1873-82.
  • The lower portion of the tower was repaired in 1904.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Wilfrid's Church on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2008.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1589, but early entries appear to be in a confused state.
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Norwell.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Southwell sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish lie 2.5 miles north of Newark. The parish is bounded on the east and south by the River Trent, covers about 2,700 acres and includes the hamlet of Little Carlton.

If you are planning a visit to the village:

  • Take the A616 trunk road north out of Newark-on-Trent. The road passes thru the village of South Muskham.
  • There is frequent bus service into the village from Newark.
You can see pictures of South Muskham which are provided by:

Directories

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which South Muskham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • In January, 1891, river ice swept away the parish's bridge over the River Trent.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK794573 (Lat/Lon: 53.106974, -0.815389), South Muskham which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Nottingham county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • This parish was in the northern division of the Thurgarten Wapentake or Hundred .

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Newark petty session hearings.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Southwell Poor Law Union.
  • In 1841, John FOSTER left £100 to generate interest which was given to six poor widows and widowers.

Population

Year Inhabitants
1801 284
1811 284
1821 278
1831 261
1841 262
1851 303
1871 279
1881 245
1891 221
1901 196
We are looking for somebody who can help with the maintenance of this page, which currently has a status of Care and maintenance - The section has a maintainer assigned who is correcting broken links, and staying in touch with the GENUKI system administrator and Trustees but is not active in updating the section's web pages. For more information about what helping us entails, look at our help wanted page. If you would like to consider helping us then please contact Lou Mills.