We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Sutton in Ashfield

"Sutton In Ashfield Parish extends from three to five miles west of Mansfield, and contains 7,704 inhabitants, and 5,960 acres of land, divided into the two townships of Sutton-in-Ashfield and Hucknall-under-Huthwaite, and of which 2,135 acres belong to the Duke of Portland, including 1,100 acres alloted to him at the enclosure in 1798, in lieu of rectorial tithes, His Grace being the impropriator and lord of the manor, which is partly copyhold, and was anciently a Berne of the Soke of Mansfield. Amongst the old tenures, we find that Jordon de Sutton held here of the crown, by paying 14s yearly, besides rendering homage, suit and service at the Mansfield court every three weeks, and attending the King's army in Wales with one man and horse, and harbergeon, cap of iron, lance and sword.
Sutton-in-Ashfield, 3½ miles west south west of Mansfield, is a very large village, situated on an eminence, and covering a considerable extent of ground, comprising 6,554 inhabitants and 5,160 acres of land, principally belonging to the Duke of Portland, but several others have estates here. Samuel Unwin and Co. carried on the extensive factory for spinning and making checks and nankeens, but for the last few years this factory has been closed, and in 1851, Messrs Bean and Johnson took it on a lease, and has converted it into a silk mill. The manufactures of cotton hosiery give employment to a great number of the inhabitants, there being upwards of 1,800 stocking frames in the village. Here are likewise two potteries of coarse earthenware."
[WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Bibliography

  • BONSER, George Gershom, "History of Sutton-in-Ashfield, Fulwood, and Hucknall-under-Huthwaite," publ. British Library, 1993, ISBN 13: 9781241606244.
     

Cemeteries

  • The Sutton-in-Ashfield Cemetery, opened in 1893, is on Hutchwaith Road and originally covered 10 acres.
     
  • The Ashfield District Council has an online index to burials. Select "Burials" for a search argument.
     
  • The Cemetery is administered by the Urban District Council.
     

Census

  • The parish was in the Sutton in Ashfield sub-district in the Mansfield Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 861
1851 H.O. 107 / 2123
1861 R.G. 9 / 2426 & 2427
1871 R.G. 10 / 3468
1891 R.G. 12 / 2652, 2653 & 2661

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Sutton in Ashfield area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Mary Magdalene.
     
  • There was a Christian church here in 1170.
     
  • Most of the church structure was built in the 14th century.
     
  • The church was restored and enlarged in 1868.
     
  • The church seats 600.
     
  • A Yew tree in the churchyard was over 800 years old.
     
  • Ann B. has a photograph of St. Mary Magdalene Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2006.
     
  • There was a Church Institute in Hardwick Street that was formed into an ecclesiastical parish of Saint Michael and All Angels in October, 1910. A church was soon erected, built of stone and seating 650.
     

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1577.
     
  • Registers for the Church of St. Michael and All Angels date from 1903 for baptisms and 1910 for marriages.
     
  • The parish was in the deanery of Mansfield.
     
  • The Baptists had a chapel built here in 1811.
     
  • The Independents (Congregationalists) had a chapel here 1651 and erected a new one in 1906.
     
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here before 1869, but built a new one in 1882.
     
  • The Primitve Methodists had a chapel here in 1866.
     
  • A Methodist chapel was built in Hucknall-under-Huthwaite before 1869.
     
  • A Methodist Free Church was built in Hucknall-under-Huthwaite before 1869.
     
  • David BEVIS has a photograph of the United Reformed Church, built in 1906, on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2013.
     

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Sutton in Ashfield sub-district in the Mansfield Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     

Description and Travel

Sutton-in-Ashfield is a parish comprised of the townships of Sutton-in-Ashfield and Hucknall-under-Huthwaite. The parish is 140 miles north of London, 8 miles south-west of Mansfield and covers over 6,000 acres.

Forest Side and Sutton Woodside are parts of this parish. If you are planning a visit:

  • Sutton in Ashfield is, and was, referred to as just Sutton. Sutton Bonnington is a separate parish.
     
  • Huthwaite Online provided by Gary Elliott.
     
You can see pictures of Sutton in Ashfield which are provided by:

Directories

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Sutton in Ashfield has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Sutton in Ashfield to another place.

History

  • In the 1800s, many inhabitants were frame-work knitters.
     
  • The Town Hall was constructed of brick in 1890.
     
  • Cattle fairs were held on the second Tuesday in April and the last Tuesday in September.
     
  • A Cheese fair was held with the Cattle fair on the last Tuesday in September.
     
  • The parish held a feast for residents on the second Sunday after July 10th.
     
  • Find more detail at Nottinghamshire History.
     

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
     
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK489590 (Lat/Lon: 53.125916, -1.270685), Sutton in Ashfield which are provided by:

Military History

  • In 1912, Company C of the 8th Battalion, Sherwwod Foresters, had its headquarters here at the Drill Hall on Alfreton Road. Lieut. M. C. Martyn, commanding; Color-Sergt. Richard John COURTNEY, drill instructor.
     
  • At the beginning of World War I, this unit was assigned to guard the Great Northern Railway. A number of the men in the unit were found unfit for active military service or were disqualified due to age, family and business ties, and other reasons. The unit marched to Derby for training.
     
  • Trevor RICKARD has a photograph of the WWII Memorial Churchgates on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2011.
     
  • Trevor RICKARD also has a photograph of the War Memorial for both World Wars on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2011.
     

Newspapers

The local newspaper was the Nottinghamshire Free Press, published every Friday by Frederick Willaim BUCK & Sons. Publication started in 1885. Publication ended in 1986 when it amalgamated with the Recorder: Mansfield and Sutton.

Politics and Government

  • This parish was an ancient parish in Nottingham county and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • This parish was in the north division of Nottinghamshire.
     
  • This parish was in the north division of the Broxtowe Hundred or Wapentake.
     
  • Sutton-in-Ashfield formed an Urban District Council in December, 1894.
     
  • District governance is provided by the Ashfield District Council.
     

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Mansfield petty session hearings held at the Police Court every week.
     
  • The Common Land was enclosed here in 1798.
     
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, this parish became part of the Mansfield Poor Law Union.
     

Population

Year Population
1801 3,311
1841 5,734
1851 7,692
1861 7,643
1901 18,943

Schools

  • A National School for both sexes was built here in 1845. The school was originally established in 1819, but quickly became too small for its purpose.
     
  • A National School in Hucknall-under-Huthwaite was built in 1867.