We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Teversall

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Teversall

" Teversal is a small village and parish, seated on a lofty eminence on the western border of the county, and near the source of the River Meden, four miles west by north of Mansfield. The parish, which has a number of scattered dwellings, abounds in coal and lime, and contains 373 inhabitants, and 2,550 acres of land; bounded on the north and west by Derbyshire, and including a small part (60a) of the park of Hardwick Hall, in that county. The whole, except 40 acres of glebe, belongs to the Earl of Carnarvon, who is also lord of the manor.
The church, dedicated to St Catherine, has a tower and five bells, and was enlarged in 1617 by J. Molyneux Esq., who made a large vault under the south side, in which all his family are now gathered. The heiress of the late Sir P. Molyneux carried the estate into the present family. The rectory, valued in The King's books at £9 19s 2d, now £510, is in the gift of the Earl of Carnarvon, and incumbency of the Rev. John Charles Stapleton, for whom the Rev. George Frederick Morgan officiates. Dunsell, one and a quarter miles north; Fackley Lane, three quarters os a mile south west; Stanley, one mile west; and Whiteborough, two miles south west are four hamlets in this parish."
[WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Census

  • The parish was in the Shirebrook sub-district of the Mansfield Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2424
1871 R.G. 10 / 3466
1891 R.G. 12 / 2649

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Teversall area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

  • There is no church mentioned here in the 1086 Domesday Book.
     
  • The Anglican parish church, built of stone, is dedicated to Saint Catherine (or Katherine).
     
  • The church was built in the 11th and 12th centuries.
     
  • This church was enlarged in 1617.
     
  • The church closed for two months in 1795 and then re-opened after a full repair.
     
  • The church is on the south side of Buttery Lane.
     
  • St Katherine's Church is Grade I listed by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport.
     
  • The church seats 170 people.
     
  • You can find a photo and history of the church.
     
  • David HALLAM-JONES has a photograph of St. Katherine's Church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2013.
     
  • Chris MORGAN also has a photograph of St. Katherine's Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2017.
     
  • Church Crawler has a photograph of St. Catherine's Church on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2004.
     
  • There was also a St. Mary's Church in tha parish, circa 1750.
     

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1571 and are in fair condition.
     
  • Between 1653 and 1676 there is a gap in the marriage register entries.
     
  • The church was in the #1 deanery of Nottingham.
     

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Shirebrook sub-district of the Mansfield Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     

Description and Travel

Teversal is a village and a parish on a height, about 144 miles north of London and 4 miles west of Mansfield. The parish covers 2,820 acres and the northern and western borders of the parish are Derbyshire.

The village is just south of a source for the Meden River. If you are planning a visit:

  • Teversall lies just east off the M1 motorway near Tibshelf and south of the A167 trunk road between Mansfield and Chesterfield.
     
  • Alan WALKER has a photograph of the heart of Teversall Village on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2017.
     

You can see pictures of Teversall which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Teversall to another place.

Genealogy

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Teversall has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

Taversall was an active coal-mining area. For more information, check these:

The railway reached the village in 1869.

David BEVIS has a photograph of the Carnarvon Pub. at Fackley on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2016.

D. H. LAWRENCE made Teversall the home of the fictional character Lady Chatterley in his famous novel Lady Chatterley's Lover.

Manors

Graham HOGG has a photograph of the Taversal Manor Gateway on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2017.

Military History

  • There is a classical marble and slate War Memorial tablet that was mounted in the church in 1920.

Military Records

There are two Commonwealth War Graves in the churchyard extension cemetery - one from each World War.

These are the two names listed on the CWGC site:

  1. Pte. Geoffrey Henry MACHIN, Royal Army Medical Corps, died 5th Jan. 1919, aged 25.
  2. Driver John Henry FEIRN, Royal Engineers, died 17th Aug. 1944.

Names, Geographical

The name Teversall is frequently found with only one trailing "L", as in "Teversal". And many are tempted to spell it "Taversall". In the 1086 Domesday Book, the name is rendered as "Tevreshalt", from the Old English word "tiefrere".

Many maps in the UK use the "Teversal" spelling, as does Wikipedia and the local Football (Soccer( club.

Politics and Government

  • David HALLAM-JONES has a photograph of the Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2013. When it is open, stop in and request a copy of the schedule of forth-coming events.
     
  • This place was an ancient parish in county Nottingham and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • For governance, the parish was in the north division of the ancient Broxtowe Hundred or Wapentake in the Northern division of the county.
     
  • District governance is provided by the Ashfield District Council.
     

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Mansfield petty session hearings held at the Mansfield Police Court every week.
     
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, this parish became part of the Mansfield Poor Law Union.
     

Population

 Year Population
1801 333
1831 400
1841 423
1851 373
1861 351
1881 415
1901 473