Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for West Stockwith

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

West Stockwith

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Misterton sub-district in the Gainsborough Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 851
1871 R.G. 10 / 3443
1891 R.G. 12 / 2633
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church was dedicated to Saint Mary the Blessed Virgin.
     
  • The church was built in 1722.
     
  • The church was restored in 1887.
     
  • The church seats 220.
     
  • The church is Grade II listed with British Heritage.
     
  • Jonathan THACKER has a photograph of St. Mary's Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2010.
     
topup

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers are incorporated with those of Misterton.
     
  • The church was in the rural deanery of Bawtry.
     
  • There were Wesleyan and Primitive Methodist chapels here in 1912.
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Misterton sub-district in the Gainsborough Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
topup

Description and Travel

This small village, township and parish lies on the west bank of the River Trent across from East Stockwith in Lincolnshire. The parish covers about 800 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A57 east out of Worksop and turn right (south) on to the B6387.
     
  • Richard CROFTS has a photograph of West Stockwith on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2008.
     
  • J. HANAH-BRIGGS has a photograph of the Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2013.
     

You can see pictures of West Stockwith which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from West Stockwith to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which West Stockwith has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • In the 1800s and early 1900s, most trades here were connected with shipping on the river and the Chesterton Canal.
     
  • In 1912, most villagers were employed at Morris's chemical works.
     
  • A horse and cattle fair was held every September 4th.
     
topup
topup

Military History

  • Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the War Memorial inside the church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2011.
topup

Military Records

topup

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient Chapelry and Township in Misterton parish. It was incorporated as a separate, modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.
     
  • The parish was in the North Clay division of the ancient Bassetlaw Wapentake (Hundred) in the northern division of the county.
     
  • You may contact the West Stockwith Parish Council regarding civic and political matters, but they are NOT staffed to help you with family history questions.
     
  • District governance is provided by the Bassetlaw District Council.
     
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard at the Retford petty session hearings held in West Retford.
     
  • In 1912 the parish had almshouses for six poor widows of sailors and ship carpenters.
     
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Gainsborough Poor Law Union.
     
topup

Population

 Year Inhabitants
1871 608
1881 662
1901 667