"Wiverton Hall, formerly a fortified place, with a demesne of 1,002 acres of fine grazing and arable land, forms an extra parochial liberty, bounded on the east by the River Smite, and on the west by Tithby parish, and distant 2½ miles south of Bingham. After the Conquest, Wiverton, or as it is commonly called Werton, was of several fees, and gave name to a resident family who became its principal owners, and gave part of it to Welbeck and Thurgarton monasteries. The whole manor subsequently passed to the Bassets, Brets and Caltofts. The heiress of the latter carried it in marriage to Sir Wm. Chaworth, in the reign of Edward III, previous to which, Thoroton says, it had become utterly depopulated, though under the date 1257 he found "many mentions in the ledger book of Thurgarton Priory, of the church of Wiverton", but he never could discover any other document to show there ever was a church here, except what referred to the domestic chapel in the house, which was there in ruins." [White's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]
The parish was in the Bingham sub-district of the Bingham Registration District.
The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Wiverton Hall is mainly an English country house not far from Tythby. Most of the original Manor House was destroyed during the English Civil War. The River Smite runs through the western portion of the parish.
The village has become completely depopulated. If you are planning a visit to the village:
This hamlet is on the Bingham Road between Bingham and Langar (to the south-east), south of the A52 trunk road.