We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Burial Indexes

Shropshire Burials Index 3rd Edition

The Shropshire Family History Society publishes an Index to Burials on CDROM, with 100% coverage 1813-1837, with a significant number of parishes for which there are earlier and later burials. (as of March 2005)

There are two other Indexes to Burials in Shropshire, both being compiled on slips and not on computer.

Jones Burial Index: 1813-1837

This index has been compiled privately by:

Mr Roger Jones
Rosebank
Harmer Hill
SHREWSBURY SY4 3EE

At October 1997 it contained over 99,000 burials or perhaps about 98-100% of burials that took place in Shropshire during that time.

All enquiries should be sent direct to Mr Jones.

South Shropshire Burial Index: ?-1812

This index is being compiled by the Stourbridge Branch of the Birmingham & Midland Society for Genealogy & Heraldry and is now open for enquiries. All enquiries should be directed to:

Jean Weston
c/o Oldswinford Hospital School
Heath Lane
Stourbridge
West Midlands DY8 1QX

The index covers various periods from the start of parish registers up to 1812 for those parishes which are situated in the south east of Shropshire. It is being compiled mainly from Printed Registers and other secondary sources.

All enquiries should be sent direct to Jean Weston. A list of coverage is available.

[This page was produced from text supplied by Michael J Hulme of the Shropshire Family History Society]

[Page created by Alan Stanier and updated 8 Mar 2003 - Brian Pears]