Hide
Barrington
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"BARRINGTON, a parish in the southern division of the hundred of Petherton, in the county of Somerset, 4 miles to the N.E. of Ilminster, its post town. Flax and hemp are grown extensively in this neighbourhood. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value £84, in the gift of the Dean and Chapter of Bristol. The church is dedicated to St. Mary." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
Hide
- Details of Somerset Heritage Centre holdings relating to this parish.
- Sue Redfearn has provided Photographs of Monuments and Inscriptions from Barrington Churchyard.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided Census Transcripts from Barrington and surrounding areas.
| Blessed Virgin Mary, Barrington |
| Chapel, Barrington |
- Sarah Hawkins has provided the following transcripts from Barrington parish registers.
- Barrington Baptisms
- Barrington Burials
- Barrington Marriages
- Barrington Marriages - 1755 to 1906 provided by West Country Genealogy.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided A Transcript of Kellys Directory for Barrington 1875
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Barrington to another place.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 1st edition (c.1884-1887) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 2nd edition (c.1900) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST389182 (Lat/Lon: 50.959886, -2.870951), Barrington which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided a Newspaper Article about the Court Leet in 1884.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.