Report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
"FIVEHEAD, a parish in the hundred of Abdick and Bulstone, county Somerset, 4 miles S.W. of Langport, its post town, and 8 E. of Taunton. The Langport station on the Bristol and Exeter railway is nearly 5 miles from the village. It is situated on the river He, and includes the tythings of Burton-Pynsent, Cathanger, and Moortown. Limestone is quarried. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value with that of Swell annexed, £234, in the patronage of the Dean and Chapter of Bristol, who are impropriators of the great tithes. The church is a stone edifice of ancient date, with an embattled tower at the W. end. It is dedicated to St. Martin, and has a brass effigy of a female. The register commences in 1654. There is a National school for both sexes. The impropriate tithes of this parish have been commuted for a rent-charge of £253, and the vicarial for £126; a rent-charge of £2 16s. is also payable to the Rector of Ashill. Arundel Yeo, Esq., is lord of the manor." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
- Sarah Hawkins has provided the following transcripts from Fivehead parish registers.
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Fivehead which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Fivehead has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST350220 (Lat/Lon: 50.993651, -2.927595), Fivehead which are provided by: