Open a form to report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
"ILTON, a parish in the hundred of Abdick, county Somerset, 2 miles N. of Ilminster, its post town, 5 W. of South Petherton, and 7 W. of Martock station on the Yeovil branch of the Bristol and Exeter railway. It is situated on the Chard canal, and contains the hamlets of Ashford, Hurcott, and Ilford. The soil is clayey, and subsoil limestone. The appropriate tithes have been commuted for a rent-charge of £275, and the vicarial for £120. The living is a vicarage* in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value £193, in the patronage of the Bishop. The church, dedicated to St. Peter, is a stone structure with tower surmounted by a spire, and contains four bells. The church has recently undergone repairs. The register dates from 1642. There is a school for both sexes, in which a Sunday-school is also held. The parochial charities produce about £60 per annum, including the endowment for Whetstone's almshouses. Lady Egremont is lady of the manor and chief landowner." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
- Sarah Hawkins has provided the following transcripts from Ilton parish registers.
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Ilton which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Ilton has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ilton to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST350170 (Lat/Lon: 50.948694, -2.926700), Ilton which are provided by: