Hide
Isle Abbots
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"ISLE ABBOTTS, a parish in the hundred of Abdick, county Somerset, 9 miles S. E. of Taunton, its post town, 5 N. of Ilminster, and 6 S.W. of Langport station, on the Yeovil branch of the Bristol and Exeter railway. The village, which is small, is situated on the river Isle, or Ivel, a branch of the Parret. The parish contains the hamlets of Stewley and Woodlands. The soil is clayey, and subsoil blue lias stone. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value £70, in the patronage' of the Dean and Chapter of Bristol. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, is an ancient stone structure, with a tower containing five bells. The church has been recently restored. The register dates from 1685. There is a school for both sexes, in which a Sunday-school is also held. The Baptists have a place of worship. John Flott, Esq., is lord of the manor." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
Hide
- Postcards of Isle Abbotts
- Details of Somerset Heritage Centre holdings relating to this parish.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided Census Transcripts from Isle Abbotts and surrounding areas.
| Blessed Virgin Mary, Isle Abbotts |
| Baptist Church, Isle Abbotts |
- Sarah Hawkins has provided the following transcripts from Isle Abbotts parish registers.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided A Transcript of Kellys Directory for Isle Abbotts for 1875
- The section of The National Gazetteer (1868) relating to this parish - transcribed by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Isle Abbots to another place.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 1st edition (c.1884-1887) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 2nd edition (c.1900) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST351210 (Lat/Lon: 50.984856, -2.925711), Isle Abbots which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.