Hide
Isle Brewer
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"ISLE-BREWERS, a parish in the hundred of Abdick, county Somerset, 10 miles S.E. of Taunton, its post town, 5 N.W. of South Petherton, and 6 S. of Langport station on the Yeovil branch of the Bristol and Exeter railway. It is a small village, situated on the river Isle, or Ivel, which separates it from the adjoining parish of Isle-Abbots. The soil is clay, intermixed with sand. The canal from Langport terminates at Westport in this parish, where are convenient wharfs. The impropriate tithes have been commuted for a rent-charge of £27, and the vicarial for £195. The living is a vicarage* in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value £220. The church, dedicated to All Saints, is a stone and brick structure, with a tower surmounted by a spire. It was thoroughly restored in 1861. The register dates from 1692. There is a school for both sexes, in which a Sunday school is also held. General Sir John Michell is lord of the manor." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
Hide
- Details of Somerset Heritage Centre holdings relating to this parish.
- A Website containing Photographs of Memorials, the Church and Parish by Sue Redfearn.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided Census Transcripts from Isle Brewer and surrounding areas.
| All Saints, Isle Brewer |
- Sarah Hawkins has provided the following transcripts from Isle Brewer parish registers.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided A Transcript of Kellys Directory for Isle Brewer for 1875
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Isle Brewer to another place.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 1st edition (c.1884-1887) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 2nd edition (c.1900) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST365212 (Lat/Lon: 50.986747, -2.90554), Isle Brewer which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.