Report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
"KINGSBURY EPISCOPI, a parish in the E. division of the hundred of Kingsbury, county Somerset, 4 miles S. of Langport, 3 N. of South Petherton, and 2½ N.W. of Martock station on the Yeovil branch of the Bristol and Exeter line of railway. Ilminster is its post town. It is situated on the river Parret, and contains the hamlets and tythings of Burrow, Lake, East and West Lambrook, Southay, Stembridge, and Thorney. It formerly belonged to the bishops of Wells, whence the adjunct to its name. The soil is loam and clay, with subsoil clay and gravel. The living is a vicarage* in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value £360, in the patronage of the Chancellor of Wells Cathedral. The church., dedicated to St. Martin, has a pinnacled tower, 120 feet high, containing a clock and five bells. It is ornamented with eleven statues of kings, and was repaired in 1849. There are Sunday and National schools, the latter recently erected. The parochial charities produce about £24 per annum. The Wesleyans and Independents have each a chapel. Wadham Wyndham, Esq., is lord of the manor." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
- Sarah Hawkins has provided Census Transcripts for Kingsbury Episcopi and surrounding areas.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided the following transcripts from Kingsbury Episcopi parish registers.
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Kingsbury Episcopi which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Kingsbury Episcopi has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST430210 (Lat/Lon: 50.985509, -2.813457), Kingsbury Episcopi which are provided by: