Report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
"MINEHEAD, a parish, seaport, post, and market town, in the hundred of Carhampton, county Somerset, 2¼ miles from Dunster, and 9 from Williton. It is situated on the cliffs of the Bristol Channel, and on the road from Williton to Lynton. The parish contains the hamlets of Bratton, Periton, Vineford, and Woodcombe. It is mentioned in Domesday Survey as Manheved, at which period it was held by William de Mohun. It is a decayed borough, having returned two members to parliament from Elizabeth's time till the passing of the Reform Act, 2nd William IV. cap. 45, when it was disfranchised. The town, which has at various periods suffered from fires, is divided into three parts-viz: Quay Town, Higher Town, and Lower Town, and is nominally governed by two portreeves, &c." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
- The Book of Minehead - A New History by Hilary Binding and Douglas Stevens. Halsgrove Community History Series, 2000, ISBN: 1-84114-073-2.
- Minehead Baptist Church, The Parks, Baptist
- St Andrew, Friday Street, Church of England
- St Michael, St Michael's Road, Church of England
- St Peter, Quay Street, Church of England
- Minehead Methodist Church, The Avenue, Methodist
- Millbridge Evangelical Church, Parkhouse Road, Evangelical
- Chapel of the Ascension, Butlins, Warren Road, Interdenominational
- Friends Meeting House, Bancks Street, Quaker
- Minehead URC, Bancks Street, United Reformed
- Sacred Heart, Townsend Road, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for
churches in the Minehead area
that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help
identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the
of the churches marked on a map.
- Ireen Warbrooke has provided the following transcripts from Minehead parish registers.
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Minehead which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Minehead has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS960460 (Lat/Lon: 51.203660, -3.490073), Minehead which are provided by: