Report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
"NYNEHEAD, (or Ninehead), a parish in the hundred of Taunton, county Somerset, 1½ mile N. by W. of Wellington, its post town and railway station, and 7 miles W. of Taunton. The village, which is small and irregularly built, is situated in the fertile vale of Taunton Dean, on the Western canal, and near the line of the Exeter railway. The river Tone, which flows through the parish, formerly inundated the low-lying lands, but was widened and improved in 1815. The inhabitants are principally engaged in agriculture. The soil consists of a rich loam, with a subsoil of marl. The impropriate tithes have been commuted for a rent-charge of £200, and the vicarial for £184 10s. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value £172. The church, dedicated to All Saints, is a small structure with a square tower containing five bells. The interior of the church contains some monuments to the Sanford family. The parochial charities produce about £3 per annum. There is a free school for both sexes, educating above sixty children. It was erected by, and is entirely supported at the expense of, E. A. Sanford, Esq. Nynehead Court, the principal residence, is situated in a well-wooded park, watered by the river Tone, which here forms a cascade. E. A. Sanford, Esq., is lord of the manor and principal landowner." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
- Transcriptions from Nynehead parish registers provided by Roy Parkhouse
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Nynehead which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Nynehead has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST130220 (Lat/Lon: 50.990742, -3.241010), Nynehead which are provided by: