Hide
Oake
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"OAKE, (or Oak), a parish in the hundred of Taunton, county Somerset, 6 miles W. of Taunton, its post town, and 4½ N.W. of the Wellington railway station. The village, which is small and straggling, is situated on the river Tone, near the line of the Exeter railway. The inhabitants are chiefly engaged in agriculture. The soil is a strong loam, and in some parts stony. The tithes have been commuted for a rent-charge of £190. The living is a rectory* in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value £200. The church, dedicated to St. Bartholomew, is a small structure with a tower containing three bells. The parochial charities produce £40 per annum. There is a school for children of both sexes. Philip Broadmead, Esq., is lord of the manor." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
Hide
- Details of Somerset Heritage Centre holdings relating to this parish.
| St Bartholomew, Oake |
- Transcriptions from Oake parish registers provided by Roy Parkhouse
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Oake to another place.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 1st edition (c.1884-1887) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 2nd edition (c.1900) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST154257 (Lat/Lon: 51.024175, -3.207579), Oake which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.