Hide
Otterford
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"OTTERFORD, a parish in the hundred of Taunton, county Somerset, 7 miles S. of Taunton. Honiton is its post town. The village, which is of small extent, is situated under the Black Down Hills, and is wholly agricultural. The soil is of a clayey nature, but fertile. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value £87. The church, dedicated to St. Leonard, is an ancient stone structure with a tower containing three bells. There is a National school for both sexes, in which a Sunday-school is also held. William Beadon, Esq., is lord of the manor and principal landowner." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
Hide
- Details of Somerset Heritage Centre holdings relating to this parish.
- Andrew Sparks & Linda Gower (2000), History of Otterford, Yarty Press, 123pp, ISBN 0-9537934-0-0. An index for this is available by clicking here
| St Leonard, Otterford |
- Transcriptions from Otterford parish registers provided by Roy Parkhouse
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Otterford to another place.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 1st edition (c.1884-1887) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 2nd edition (c.1900) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST222144 (Lat/Lon: 50.923435, -3.108788), Otterford which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.