Report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
"PITNEY, a parish in the hundred of Pitney, county Somerset, 2½ miles E. of Langport, its post town and railway station, and 3 W. of Somerton. The village, which is of small extent, is situated on the high road from Castle Cary to Wells, near the river Parret. The inhabitants are chiefly engaged in agriculture. The soil is of a clayey nature, with a subsoil of limestone. The foundations of a Roman villa have been discovered in the neighbourhood, covering about 1½ acre of ground, and the remains of the mosaics show its former splendour. White and blue lias stone are quarried for building purposes and for pavements. The tithes were commuted for corn-rents under an Enclosure Act in 1807, and the glebe comprises 15 acres. The living is a rectory* in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value £180. The church, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, is an ancient stone edifice, with a tower containing four bells. The church contains an hourglass stand, formerly used by the Puritans, also an ancient holy-water stoop, used by the Roman Catholics. The register dates from 1623. There is a small National school. The Duke of Devonshire and W. Uttermare, Esq., are lords of the manor." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
- Sarah Hawkins has provided the following transcripts from Pitney parish registers.
- The Phillimore & Co. transcript of marriages in this parish from 1623 - 1812 are available on CD-ROM from UK Genealogy Archives
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Pitney which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Pitney has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST450280 (Lat/Lon: 51.048645, -2.786030), Pitney which are provided by: